VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Location
    Israel
    Search PM
    I have used WonderFox HD Video Converter Factory on Windows to compress the un-necessarily huge video files which phones and cameras produce, and resulting bit rates were very close to what I defined.

    However, recently, H264 compression results in video data rates that are usually 2-10X larger than I define, different for each file in the batch, and without any apparent logic. Restarting the app does not change the results. I tried another leading app - Wondershare UniConverter, and had a similar problem - first few runs were OK, and then consistently wrong bitrates. When encoding H265 - results are correct bitrate in both apps. I tried 3 other recommended converters, which had other issues for me, so I never got to testing them beyond a few runs.

    Could it be that there's a bug in some H264 encoder underlying both apps (and maybe this encoder was auto-updated and now has a bug)
    How do I manage encoders which the conversion apps use?
    And which encoder is recommended?

    Or even better, can someone recommend a "good" video converter.. ?
    - see my next post for what I'd like.

    Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Are you using 2-pass VBR for your bitrate control ?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Location
    Israel
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Are you using 2-pass VBR for your bitrate control ?
    nope
    in the apps I used VBR causes very big bitrates.
    on most of them 2 pass is not offered.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    You're doing it wrong. Use 2-pass vbr and set the bitrate required specifically.
    Thats what this mode is for - predictable bitrate, predictable file size.
    Try Vidcoder/Handbrake
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Location
    Israel
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    You're doing it wrong. Use 2-pass vbr and set the bitrate required specifically.
    Thats what this mode is for - predictable bitrate, predictable file size.
    Try Vidcoder/Handbrake
    Interesting, will try!
    I always thought 2 pass was used only to enhance compression.
    In any case, VBR may be a solution for my needs, but does not explain why CBR compressed properly, and then stopped.
    Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by sharoni View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    You're doing it wrong. Use 2-pass vbr and set the bitrate required specifically.
    Thats what this mode is for - predictable bitrate, predictable file size.
    Try Vidcoder/Handbrake
    Interesting, will try!
    I always thought 2 pass was used only to enhance compression.
    In any case, VBR may be a solution for my needs, but does not explain why CBR compressed properly, and then stopped.
    Thanks!
    AVC (H.264) doesn't have a CBR mode
    Quote Quote  
  7. Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    AVC (H.264) doesn't have a CBR mode
    x264 doesn't support CBR but some other h.264 encoders do. But basically, you should never use CBR.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads