VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi

I have never used Zoom meetings before but I am interested in taking some Spanish lessons whereby I need the Zoom software and a webcam.

I am on Linux - I have downloaded the appropriate software but I have not installed it as yet.

Right now I am looking at Logitech HD Wbcam C310, it is only $36.64 CAN

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B003PAIV2Q?

Do you think this would be suitable - it would be a one-one student-teacher arrangement?

Any recommendations for a different webcam under $100 CAN

TIA
    Quote Quote  
  2. If you have a lap top with a camera try that. That's all I have been using for two years and it works OK. NO need to spend any money. That's what most of the millions that have had to do Zoom for work during Covid used.
    Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence -Carl Sagan
    Quote Quote  
  3. What Linux distro. Ones like Ubuntu have webcams already working
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    @TreeTops
    Thanks for the reply. I had an old lap top that I gave to a friend to use - I had tried the camera and it wasn't very good
    I just purchased this Logitech C310 online - figured $40 was worth it

@s-mp
    I am using Puppy Linux based on Ubuntu 18.04 - I noticed that Logitech HD Wbcam C310 only has Windows drivers - but since there is a Zoom app for Linux [Ubuntu] - I figure it should work
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You'd be better off asking this on the Puppy forum... they'll also likely be able to point you to a Zoom build geared more toward your specific version of Puppy.

I can't remember if that's the webcam I bought, but from what I was told, you need to have PulseAudio installed to use the microphone. Puppy users try to steer you away from installing or using PulseAudio.
    If cameras add ten pounds, why would people want to eat them?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search Comp PM
    @Ai Haibara