VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Help!!

I paid for VSDC 7.1.12.430 and am running it on my Win10 PC. I am new to this, and only need to edit my father's old 8mm films which were copied to .mp4 using a Wolverine Moviemaker Pro 8mm to .mp4 converter. The .mp4 files are fine.

All I want to do is cut out some portions of the .mp4

I find VSDC impossibly complicated to use!!

can someone PLEASE help me understand how to cut out a piece of the .mp4? The help video on VSDC's website doesnt explain at all well how to do this - there are buttons that I dont seem to have and the whole thing assumes a level of familiarity and expertise that I simply don't have.

Please don't suggest that I have the 8mm fils professionally copied - it costs hunders of dollars/pounds, and i have almost 100 reels of 8mm

Thank you.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Money probably wasted on VSDC. You really should have asked before the purchase.

You should be able to use the free avidemux the mark A/B sections of the parts you want to cut and use 'Copy' and .mp4 output so your final .mp4 has the same quality as the original.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks DB83. I bought VDSC because it has a video stabilisation feature and i paid £15. Other software that has this seem to cost a hundred pounds more or less. Anyone out there can help me with VDSC?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Well if you want to stanilise as well then re-encoding takes place regardless of what program you use.

Now I do have an older 'free' version of VSDC and cutting/triming is quite straight forward.

1. Having imported your video you should see a series of 3 'film' icons just above the timeline.
    2. Drag the cursor on the timeline to the start of the section you want to cut out and press the middle of the 3 icons (hold the mouse over the icon to reveal 'set begin work area...')