VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Location
    Slovakia
    Search PM
    Hello guys!
    I hope someone can help me with this.
    I've been using easySUP for Blu-ray subtitles for some time and although it's a great little software, it's missing one essential setting - line height. That's why I decided to use Subtitle Edit instead. However, I noticed that bottom margin in exported subtitles (and it's even visible in preview) is all over the place and it's very disctracting to see the lines "jump" up and down. Is there anything I can do to keep them aligned in uniform height?
    Thank you in advance.

    Image
    [Attachment 65689 - Click to enlarge]

    Image
    [Attachment 65690 - Click to enlarge]

    Image
    [Attachment 65691 - Click to enlarge]
    Last edited by seamus11; 2nd Jul 2022 at 12:04.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    When you said easysup didn't have line height did you mean the distance from the bottom to where the subtitle was?
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Location
    Slovakia
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by johns0 View Post
    When you said easysup didn't have line height did you mean the distance from the bottom to where the subtitle was?
    No, I meant the vertical space between two lines.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member Ennio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    It seems this issue pops up every now and then in SE. I know the author is rather keen on outputting SUP on "same writing line" and has always fixed it.

    The issue has been mentioned again in the SE thread at doom9 (for quite a while now) and is still pending proper addressing. Read from here: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1963732#post1963732

    TBH I haven't checked with latest versions but if the problem is still there, I'm sure it will be fixed. In the meantime you can try another font for export and see if outcome is more acceptable. Or use an older SE version?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Location
    Slovakia
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Ennio View Post
    It seems this issue pops up every now and then in SE. I know the author is rather keen on outputting SUP on "same writing line" and has always fixed it.

    The issue has been mentioned again in the SE thread at doom9 (for quite a while now) and is still pending proper addressing. Read from here: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1963732#post1963732

    TBH I haven't checked with latest versions but if the problem is still there, I'm sure it will be fixed. In the meantime you can try another font for export and see if outcome is more acceptable. Or use an older SE version?
    Thank you so much! Yes, it seems some fonts have different (better) outcomes. Thank you again
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by seamus11 View Post
    Hello guys!
    I noticed that bottom margin in exported subtitles (and it's even visible in preview) is all over the place...
    You cannot use the export window for position preview - use the "preview" link button.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member Ennio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Nikse View Post
    You cannot use the export window for position preview - use the "preview" link button.
    Very true, Nikse. Nevertheless there is something weird with the images when exporting font Arial to SUP (or xml/png for that matter). After some experimenting, I found something which may help you narrowing down the issue.

    Two lines in srt:

    text line 1: uprom
    text line 2: promu

    SUP export (1920x1080 with font Arial and all same settings) gives these images:

    Image
    [Attachment 65717 - Click to enlarge]


    Image
    [Attachment 65718 - Click to enlarge]


    First off: given the two words, you would expect their exported images to have same heights in the first place, agree? Maybe you can't see clearly on the images, but one has height 70 px and the other 80 px.
    Also the "texts" within the transparent backgrounds are vertically positioned differently. Either or both behaviours make the subtitles not displayed on the same height. Given they have same bottom offsets of course.

    Quick & dirty testing with other fonts doesn't show this issue. It seems to be "Arial-related".

    Hope this helps.

    Cheers
    Last edited by Ennio; 4th Jul 2022 at 04:11.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads