VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi all, first post here. I recently purchased a Sony VO 5600 and I am now in the process of building/figuring out my ideal transfer chain. From reading many forum posts on here, below is what I have come up with so far. Any suggestions for additions/subtractions/replacements are greatly appreciated.

Sony VO-5600 U Matic
    Ensemble brighteye 25/75 analog to sdi (w/ TBC built in?) OR S&W CVR550 (w/ TBC built in?)
    Capture Card TBD
    Computer TBD
    Cables/adapters TBD

Since the VO 5600 has only RF/BNC out and no DUB option, the consensus seems to be that I should convert the composite analog video to SDI. I am hoping to do this via either a Brighteye device, or S&W TBS/CVR, as these devices appear to also double as TBC’s? This is just what I have gathered from forums, so I may be completely wrong. Or maybe do i first need to first transcode the video to 3.58mhz before the TBC step? I have little experience with video or transfers, although I consider myself relatively technologically able. I am in college and money is particularly tight at the moment, so I hope to spend no more than $1,000-1500 on the rest of the chain. However, quality and longevity are the most important factors. I would like to eventually add Beta, VHS, and other video formats to the chain as well, so the fewer the parts needed, the better. I dont mind using more adapters/cables if it means less expensive hardware. I am currently using a MacBook Pro with Intel Core, but am open to getting a windows machine if it will make things easier or of better quality. As far as capture cards go, I am unsure were to start. Thanks in advance. Glad to be a part of the community.
    Last edited by MikeMilligan; 30th Jun 2022 at 09:36. Reason: Added question re 3.58mhz transcoding.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Capturing Memories dellsam34's Avatar
    Search PM