VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 32
Thread
  1. Using S-video and OBS right now. Just received the capture card in the mail. The driver was easy to install with the included driver CD and the Google Translate app on my phone. You just point your phone at your computer screen and it translates the Japanese to English. Haven't received my DVD recorder for a TBC yet.

    update: added amarectv capture
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by boolian2; 22nd Jun 2022 at 15:58.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I'll leave the main analysis to those who know better than me but.....

    Whether this is an issue with the codec, OBS or the card but chromo sub-sampling for NTSC should be 4:1:1. and not 4:2:0 which is PAL


    Also the DAR appears to be 16:9 and VHS does not support that without letter-boxing.


    Personally I would do another sample with AmarecTv or Vdub just to compare the output.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Capturing Memories dellsam34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Member Since 2005, Re-joined in 2016
    Search PM
    It's better and safer to use vdub or AmarecTV. Wrong settings on OBS can lead to problems that you may not notice right away until the capturing process is done and you will have to go back and recapture.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by dellsam34 View Post
    It's better and safer to use vdub or AmarecTV. Wrong settings on OBS can lead to problems that you may not notice right away until the capturing process is done and you will have to go back and recapture.
    yeah I just added amarectv capture
    Quote Quote  
  5. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    The architecture of the fields is weird in both captures.

    Run a simple separateFields() and check by yourself

    Proportions also looks weird

    edit: 4:2:0 colorspace in obs capture is not appropriate, should be 4:2:2

    edit 2 removed comment on field architecture, is classic 3:2 pulled-down, sorry for my mistake
    Last edited by lollo; 22nd Jun 2022 at 16:45.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    ^^ Any reason why you now used Lagarith instead of UT video ?
    DAR is now corrected but you would have to resize to 4:3 to be absolutely correct (on reflection maybe the UT display was also 3:2)
    Quote Quote  
  7. Ok I will switch to UT video and try that. Does it matter that the io data driver window says NTSC-M and not NTSC?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    NTSC-M is correct.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by DB83 View Post
    ^^ Any reason why you now used Lagarith instead of UT video ?
    DAR is now corrected but you would have to resize to 4:3 to be absolutely correct (on reflection maybe the UT display was also 3:2)
    UT video capture:
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  10. When you step through the frames you see the 3-2 telecine pattern: 3 clean - 2 combed - 3clean - 2combed ......
    The files should be IVTCed (InVerse TeleCined) to restore progressive 23.976fps
    Code:
    assumeTFF()
    TFM().Tdecimate()
    Last edited by Sharc; 22nd Jun 2022 at 17:02.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Ok. I was fooled by the original cap. Both OBS and Amarec are displaying 3:2

    But now Amarec shows 4:2:2 for sub-sampling which is a vast improvemnt on 4:2:0
    Quote Quote  
  12. Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
    When you step through the frames you see the 3-2 telecine pattern: 3 clean - 2 combed - 3clean - 2combed ......
    The files should be IVTCed (InVerse TeleCined) to restore progressive 23.976fps
    Code:
    assumeTFF()
    TFM().Tdecimate()
    Ok I just installed Avisynth I've never used it. Made an AVS file and when I open it in Virtualdub, it shows this error "AVI Import Filter error: (Unknown) (80040154)"

    Anyone know how to fix that error
    Quote Quote  
  13. You have to add the source filter

    Code:
    AviSource("Path to your source file.avi") #for reading the source file
    assumeTFF()
    TFM().Tdecimate()
    Quote Quote  
  14. Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
    You have to add the source filter

    Code:
    AviSource("Path to your source file.avi") #for reading the source file
    assumeTFF()
    TFM().Tdecimate()
    Yeah I did that

    Code:
    AviSource("C:\Users\*\Downloads\amarec(20220622-1632).avi")
    assumeTFF()
    TFM().Tdecimate()
    Quote Quote  
  15. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    if not placed in the appropriate AviSynth folder, load also the necessary DLLs

    # plugins directory
    plugins_dir="<your DLL directory>"

    # TIVTC
    loadPlugin(plugins_dir + "TIVTCv105\TIVTC\TIVTC.dll")
    Quote Quote  
  16. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah I did that
    Try to open the avi file with FFmpegSource2("....")
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    L-Smash-Works can open Lagarith and UT codec, download and put the LSMASHSource.dll in the plugins directory, 32 & 64 bits as appropriate
    https://github.com/HolyWu/L-SMASH-Works/releases/
    Code:
    LWLIBAVVideosource("amarec(20220622-1556).avi")
    Quote Quote  
  18. I've tried a few things none of them worked
    Code:
    # plugins directory
    plugins_dir="C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth\plugins\"
    # TIVTC
    loadPlugin(plugins_dir + "TIVTC-v1.0.26\x64\TIVTC.dll")
    #loadPlugin(plugins_dir + "LSMASHSource.dll")
    
    # file name
    file_name="C:\Users\u\Downloads\amarec(20220622-1632).avi"
    
    #AviSource(file_name)
    FFmpegSource2(file_name)
    #LWLIBAVVideosource(file_name)
    
    assumeTFF()
    TFM().Tdecimate()
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Comment out the loadplugin line, proably a syntax error there somewhere.
    It's not required when the dll is in the plugin folder, they're found automatically
    Quote Quote  
  20. Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Comment out the loadplugin line, proably a syntax error there somewhere.
    It's not required when the dll is in the plugin folder, they're found automatically
    I just tried Version() and not even that is working. Still giving same error

    update tried avisynth on another computer still not working. not working on windows 10 and 11. does avisynth require windows 7?
    Last edited by boolian2; 22nd Jun 2022 at 19:29.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by boolian2 View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Comment out the loadplugin line, proably a syntax error there somewhere.
    It's not required when the dll is in the plugin folder, they're found automatically
    I just tried Version() and not even that is working. Still giving same error
    What, specifically, is your error ?

    Try installing the latest Avisynth Plus version, which works fine in Windows 7 - 11
    https://www.videohelp.com/download/AviSynthPlus_3.7.2_20220317_vcredist.exe
    Quote Quote  
  22. Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by boolian2 View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Comment out the loadplugin line, proably a syntax error there somewhere.
    It's not required when the dll is in the plugin folder, they're found automatically
    I just tried Version() and not even that is working. Still giving same error
    What, specifically, is your error ?

    Try installing the latest Avisynth Plus version, which works fine in Windows 7 - 11
    https://www.videohelp.com/download/AviSynthPlus_3.7.2_20220317_vcredist.exe
    Sweet, Avisynth Plus is working. But it says there is no TFM function.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Ok finally got it working but the file was over a gig so handbrake'd it:
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by boolian2 View Post
    Ok finally got it working but the file was over a gig so handbrake'd it:
    Sure. In vdub, unless you set video/compression, it defaults to uncompressed, which is massive as you saw.
    If you use vdub2, it has x264, x265 and the excellent lossless FFV1 built in.

    If you plan on making a DVD you can open the script directly in HCenc (or AVStoDVD), no need for an intermediate file.

    Don't forget the file should play back as 4:3 aspect ratio, so you have to incororate it somewhere
    Quote Quote  
  25. You may have a 32 bit vs. 64 bit issue. If you use a 32 bit editor you need 32 bit AviSynth Plus and 32 bit AviSynth filters. If you use a 64 bit editor you need 64 bit AviSynth Plus and 64 bit AviSynth filters. For filters to autoload you need to put them in the appropriate plugins folder. plugins+ for 32 bit, plugins64+ for 64 bit.

    Note that 32 bit filters often come in a folder called x86, 64 bit filters in a folder called x64. The x86 name comes from the part numbers of the early Intel family processors: 8086, 80186, 80286, 80386, etc.
    Quote Quote  
  26. Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
    When you step through the frames you see the 3-2 telecine pattern: 3 clean - 2 combed - 3clean - 2combed ......
    The files should be IVTCed (InVerse TeleCined) to restore progressive 23.976fps
    Code:
    assumeTFF()
    TFM().Tdecimate()
    Am a newbie and this thread is full of useful info for me. I haven't used Avisynth yet, am I correct assuming it is a tool for post capture editing/processing? So far I have just played with virtualdub's basic deinterlacing/filters in post on some test captures, but I'd like to experiment with something more robust. Sounds like this is the next thing to start getting acquainted with.
    Quote Quote  
  27. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Italy
    Search Comp PM
    am I correct assuming it is a tool for post capture editing/processing
    Yes, welcome aboard!

    If you want an example to setup a basic deinterlacing/denoise/sharpening script in AviSynth look here; it's only a starting point, but I hope it helps: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/12805-first-video-capture.html#post85085

    edit: but first of all you have to understand the nature of your video, to decide if you have to deinterlace, inverse telecine or whatever else. Have a look here: https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/406066-What-is-best-capture-device/page4#post2660663
    Last edited by lollo; 23rd Jun 2022 at 01:45.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Fantastic thank you for those refs!
    Quote Quote  
  29. You can also use AvsInfoTool to check your AviSynth installation. It shows whether filters loaded successfully or not and possible filter conflicts and duplicates.
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by DB83
    Any reason why you now used Lagarith instead of UT video ?
    What is the advantage of UT video over Lagarith?
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads