VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello all.

Context: I am a newbie and not particularly interest in video tools [I am much more in music and books]

Context: I am or used to be a computer scientist and know my way around a PC, so I can install and do what you'd recommend

Context: 15 years ago, I asked the local photo shop to transfer Super 8 movies to a computer format. I did not pay much attention until a few days ago... and discovered that they are huge... Typically 700MB for 3'15".

Question: how can convert them to lighter files without loosing (too much) quality. I have tried random things with VLC, but don't know what I am doing.

More information: 25.00 frame/s ; Data rate 28805kbps; 720x576, no audio. type AVI. The tool used seems to be STUDIO 10.

Thanks in advance

G.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Can someone help me with this video problem?

No response for 5-6 days. I would have thought VideoHelp was for Helping people who have Video problems. If not, please tell me which forum you would recommend for getting Help on Video.

Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Not much info given.

Install a program called mediainfo and post a text-mode report of one of these videos.

We can then take it from there. And apologies from me at least since I did not see your original post.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    And maybe to move progress a little quicker install another program called avidemux. Load a video, use the A/B markers for 20-30 secs of the video. Select copy for video and avi for the output format. Save the file and upload that here as an attachment. Then one can suggest ways to make the files smaller.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search Comp PM
    If you could provide more complete information about the video it might improve your chances of getting help. An AVI file can be used to hold many types of video and audio.