VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. On the 120 volt models VCRs i always see a F-connector on EU 230 volt models a IEC connector.
    Why is this difference?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You sure about that ?

Now I have no first-hand experience with US power (which would use 120 volts) but sure it is only the pins that differ. Even in the EU the actual pins differ.

The only F-connector pics I can find refer to video connection and not to actual power.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Capturing Memories dellsam34's Avatar
    Search PM
    F connector is an RF video signal connection for off air, cable and satellite signals, It has nothing to do with electric power.

Here is all power connections used in the US, I would assume Europe uses some of those too.
    Last edited by dellsam34; 2nd Mar 2022 at 15:16.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by dellsam34 View Post
    F connector is an RF video signal connection for off air, cable and satellite signals, It has nothing to do with electric power.
    Well... all satellite consumer equipment use F connector to provide power for LNB and other equipment connected by F connector so in fact F connector can provide substantial amount of power (capable to power multi LNB, Diseq, actuator etc.)

I think F connector popularity in US may be related to different approach for signal distribution - Europe is smaller and way higher urbanized than US, some countries doesn't use almost at all stateliness equipent and flimsy IEC connector is sufficient to pass average quality RF UHF signal - in US more satellite equipment and wider consumer penetration of such solutions so simply cable with F connector are common - opposite to IEC.
    Of course F connector is simply better in terms of RF parameters and more robust than IEC.