VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I have an dvdrip (video_ts folder, ifo, bup, vob files..) that i tried to make a mkv out of using mkvtoolnix gui, but the result is interlaced, basically i want to deinterlace it without losing quality in the process, the source is 720x480 29.970 (checked using mediainfo), all the movie files in total give a size of 6,42 GB.

As i'm very new to working with encoding & all this stuff i'm not sure what software should i use, i tried looking up some guides for x264/x265 encoding with handbrake but i'm not sure if this will damage the quality in some way or if is there a better way to solve this problem.

Also, if encoding is the case (i was looking up some guides for x264 as there is more info easily available online) can "--qp 0" option increase the original file size or just preserve it? + are the advanced options in handbrake really needed for making quality encodings or it's more for fine tuning the desired size?

If anyone can help or point me in a guide, thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Quality is always reduced when re-encoding and de-interlacing - although if you're careful, you can reduce
    the damage.
    To make an MKV out of the video_ts folder you should probably mount it in Windows then run MakeMKV
    That way you keep the original quality, then allow it to be deinterlaced (or IVTC'd) during playback
    Quote Quote  
  3. Do software players IVTC on the fly? TV MKV players? If it can be IVTC'd, I'd do it. Need an untouched sample, though. Cut 10 seconds or so with steady movement using DGIndex.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by manono View Post
    Do software players IVTC on the fly? TV MKV players? If it can be IVTC'd, I'd do it. Need an untouched sample, though. Cut 10 seconds or so with steady movement using DGIndex.
    VLC possibly? Most TV's can probably do it. My LG 4k ultra can
    Quote Quote