VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 26 of 26
Thread
  1. I am using MakeMKV to copy tv-series DVDs. If a disc has 4 episodes, how do I copy all 4 episodes with MakeMKV? When I did it the first time, only 2 episodes were copied, and the other 2 were duplicates without sound.

    Thank you.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search PM
    If the disc has 4 actual episodes....you should be able to get 4 individual episodes from the disc. I did the entire run of Big Bang Theory, episode by episode, for my son. If you are new to MakeMKV, the interface may take a bit of getting used to.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jarod1005 View Post
    I am using MakeMKV to copy tv-series DVDs. If a disc has 4 episodes, how do I copy all 4 episodes with MakeMKV? When I did it the first time, only 2 episodes were copied, and the other 2 were duplicates without sound.

    Thank you.

    see this thread - https://forum.makemkv.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5707
    Quote Quote  
  4. Where do I go to select the titles that I want to copy?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search PM
    Click on the DVD player icon?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jarod1005 View Post
    Where do I go to select the titles that I want to copy?
    please watch this youtube video for a better explanation - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ode9wBADrA
    on how to rip tv series dvds with MakeMKV.
    Last edited by october262; 6th Feb 2022 at 01:53.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Why does one of the titles not have audio? Is there a way to fix the audio on it?
    Quote Quote  
  8. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Make sure you have the audio checked before you start ripping the files.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  9. I didn’t see anything for an audio check. 3 of the 4 had sound.
    Quote Quote  
  10. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    If you don't see any check boxes for selecting audio then there's something wrong with your system.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Here is what it looks like when the disc has been inserted.

    https://files.videohelp.com/u/266783/21AC1F50-96BC-4C24-8332-A8EE77AB2804.jpeg

    I see nothing to check audio.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Okay, I did see the audio check box, but they were all checked. 3 of the 4 titles have sound. Why is there no audio with one of them?
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search PM
    Is this the FBI box set?
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search PM
    These old TV show sets are just thrown together and created/authored BADLY.
    You are going to need to do some actual "detective" work
    on your own to get individual episodes off of these sets.

    It looks like there are 3 episodes per disc(? - 1.8, 1.9GB) plus one 945MB file(probably the menu of the DVD)
    The first 6.7GB listing represents the the entire disc - all 3 episodes in one file.

    NO....the disc is NOT 12GB in size.
    Quote Quote  
  15. There are 4 episodes on each disc. The one that I am trying to get the sound to has 4. Only 3 of them have sound. I have tried to turn the sound on the media player. There is no option for it.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jarod1005 View Post
    There are 4 episodes on each disc. The one that I am trying to get the sound to has 4. Only 3 of them have sound. I have tried to turn the sound on the media player. There is no option for it.
    do you have audio on all 4 episodes if you copy the entire disc ??
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jarod1005 View Post
    There are 4 episodes on each disc.
    Then the first 6.7GB entry is probably the first episode with the "Play All" option in the disc menu. You'll need to shorten that one manually.
    Sets like these were not created with sophisticated DVD Authoring software. Often you are at the mercy of the DVDs menu.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search PM
    Does MakeMKV recognize AC3, MP2 and LPCM audio?
    Quote Quote  
  19. Only 3 have audio.

    It recognizes MPEG2
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member netmask56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by hech54 View Post
    Does MakeMKV recognize AC3, MP2 and LPCM audio?
    Whatever is on the disc DVD, Blu ray or UHD.
    SONY 75" Full array 200Hz LED TV, Yamaha A1070 amp, Zidoo UHD3000, BeyonWiz PVR V2 (Enigma2 clone), Chromecast, Windows 11 Professional, QNAP NAS TS851
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jarod1005 View Post
    Only 3 have audio.

    It recognizes MPEG2
    If the DVD, played in the DVD player, has audio.....then the audio IS THERE.
    Saying "Only 3 have audio" over and over and over again is not going to solve the problem.
    Quote Quote  
  22. I state “only” 3 because all I need to know is how to fix the one file. Again, is there a way to turn the one titles audio on? Each track on the DVD when played in the player, has sound.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jarod1005 View Post
    I state “only” 3 because all I need to know is how to fix the one file. Again, is there a way to turn the one titles audio on? Each track on the DVD when played in the player, has sound.
    Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    do you have audio on all 4 episodes if you copy the entire disc ??
    Have you actually tried ANYTHING with MakeMKV? Run it through and see what MakeMKV gives you?
    I'm guessing no.

    Goodbye.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!