VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I have a D2 master of a 35mm documentary film I made many years ago. I would like to transfer or restore it to the highest res, usable video format possible. My question is what's possible?
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    D2 is SD resolution (aka 720/704 x 480-NTSC or x 576-PAL). It is also Composite. So it is not going to be as good as D1 or most other digital component formats or ANY HD format, and probably won't look as good as Betacam/SP or MII, but it probably will look equivalent to a clean 1" C. And it may be better or worse than 3/4", and other Y/C or S-Video formats (S-VHS, Ed-Beta, Hi8), but would certainly be better than VHS,Betamax or video8.

Have a service transfer this via SDI if possible to YUV422 uncompressed or losslessly compressed format in its native SD rez, and that will be the best you can hope for as an original.

Scott
    Quote Quote  
  3. Capturing Memories dellsam34's Avatar
    Search PM
    Yes the best way is to dump the tape into hard drive using SDI and from there work your magic of software restoration, It won't look like the original 35mm though, wish you kept that film roll don't ya?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Thank you both for your help.

I have the 35mm print. The movie was originally shot in Super 16 and blown-up to 35mm. It rendered beautifully. We made the D2 from the internegative, which was lost long ago. So, I have the D2 and one 35mm print but, being the only print, it saw a fair amount of use and scratching from being passed to too many hands back in the day. It needs a cleaning and restoration itself, which is just not in the cards.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Capturing Memories dellsam34's Avatar
    Search PM