VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hey gang,

New here, but this looks like a forum of people more experienced than me in an area Im trying to navigate. Look forward to learning from you. Here’s the deal…

Im an audio engineer (and video editor) transitioning from stereo to spatial mixing this year. My studio will be receiving a monitoring upgrade in a few months. But as I’ve always been accustomed to having a home rig, I’m trying to figure out if there is a way to create a home theater setup that can also double as a secondary mix space when desired…

But first lemme get out of the way: I know I could just buy a capable audio interface (3k or more), and output to a compatible AVR (6k or more). But unless there’s solutions I don’t know about, that’s thousands of dollars I can’t afford. Im already spending a small fortune upgrading my actual studio and buying speakers for this home space. Plus this space is essentially my living room so it’s primary use is home theater. But I sure would love and appreciate a way to use it as a secondary mix space as well.

So…Is there a way one could send 12 channels of uncompressed audio from a mac to a modern AVR via hdmi 2.x?

My ideal use case:
    - TV and AVR exist as conventional, standalone configuration, not reliant on the presence of a computer in the chain.
    - Computer is able to be looped into the system and output a real-time 12 channel mix into the system. Specifically, Pro Tools > Dolby Atmos Production Suite. (Which, just to reiterate, does *not* output a real-time Dolby stream. Rather, the real-time output for monitoring is 12 discrete, uncompressed signals, aka 7.1.4.)
    - Multichannel signal then makes its way to the AVR in some fashion.
    - AVR outputs analog to 7.1.4 speaker setup.