VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am new to trying to rip 3D bluray movies though I have used MakeMKV for a couple of years to create MKV's for use with Plex and had no issues playing those files.

Yesterday I used MakeMKV to rip a couple of 3D movies (after ensuring I had the MVC video option selected). I then used BD3D2MK3D 1.23 portable with Avisynth+ 64-bit (including VCRedist) installed to convert the MakeMKV files.

In both cases BD3D2MK3D ran and since I had the "Exit and encode after successful demux" checkbox selected in the process box, it automatically ran once the demux completed successfully.

In just a few moments, the encode process stopped and the console showed this message: mkvmerge v56.1.0 ('My Friend') 32-bit Error: The file 'MKV3D_3D.264' could not be opened for reading: end of file error

I did notice the MKV3D_3D.264 was empty. After reading through a couple of other posts in this forum I deleted the MKV3D_3D.264 file and manually ran __ENCODE_3D_LAUNCHER.cmd but got the same error message every time. Even after BD3D2MK3D recreated the MKV3D_3D.264 file it was still empty.

At this point the only option was to close the window and scratch my head. Not sure what else to try so any advice you could provide would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Xenomatic

My system: Windows 7 SP1 64 bit, 16GB RAM, Intel Core i5-4400 with a 250GB SSD for OS. I have several NAS devices but the one I am using for the movie conversion and storage has 5.24 TB of free space.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I couldn't tell from personal experience, but if the encoding process has stopped "in a few moments", I wonder if this could be because you're using network drives.
    First thing I'd try is copy a 3D movie to local harddrive and do the processing from & to that.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks for the idea, I'll give that a shot.