VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I am familiar with frame-accurate cutting operations for avc source (e.g., cutting on keyframes, open and closed gops, etc.), but I've never tried cutting 265 with HDR layers. I assume things work the same as 264 regarding the video stream (e.g., need to cut on closed gop boundaries), but I'm confused about the HDR metadata layers. Do those simply get sliced in place, too? What if some reencoding is necessary, do the HDR layers remain unaffected? Do HDR layers add any complexity or problems when trying to cut 265 files? I'm new to the whole 4k HDR scene.

For 264 material, I usually use mkvmerge/mkvtoolnix because it is easier for me and handles the audio and subtitle tracks well. I'll do a little reencoding with ffmpeg if I need to place keyframes for cutting. Anyone see a problem with this approach if I tried it with 265 and HDR layers?

Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  2. For static hdr data (hdr10) I see no problem. For dynamic meta data (hdr10+, dv), the reencoding for the frame accurate cutting would require to extrat the dynamic data, cutting the data and re-adding it to the reencoded cut stream.
    For dv extracting the hdr-meta-data, manually edit it and re-apply the meta data should be possible using https://github.com/quietvoid/dovi_tool.
    For hdr10+ extracting the hdr-meta-data, manually edit it and re-apply the meta data should be possible using https://github.com/quietvoid/hdr10plus_tool
    iirc both can convert the meta data to and from a human readable json format which addresses the frames by indices, so simply deleting the removed sections and apply the indices accordingly should work.
    (Note that I haven't done this myseld and this is only from what I read a while ago when I was curious about the same thing.)

Cu Selur
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM