VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I thought I'd share some snapshots of NTSC captures with and without the DMR-ES15 in the pipeline. These snapshots are from 1 NTSC VHS tape that was sourced directly from a CBC TV station (not over the air).

I captured them by stopping on the frame in VirtualDub 1.9.11 and doing Video > "Copy source frame to clipboard". Then pasted into MS paint and saved as a jpg.

My setup is pretty basic and on a budget. The two pipelines for these snapshots are:
    1. JVC SVHS HR-S2913U > Pinnacle 710 USB > Windows 10 > Virtual Dub 1.9.11
    2. JVC SVHS HR-S2913U > DMR-ES15 > Pinnacle 710 USB > Windows 10 > Virtual Dub 1.9.11

The ES15 is set with colour lighter/darker.

I'm a newbie, but by comparing them, I believe it shows how the DMR-ES15 corrects tearing, described by LordSmurf as "one of the harshest line timing issues that exists" (source).

The ES15 also affects the colour as it reduces the red/magenta in the shot. I am curious if this is a pro or a con.
    Pro: Is it "removing or reducing chroma noise (the red/blue colored mist found in all VHS tape formats)" as described in the TBC FAQ on Line TBCs? Or if
    Con: Is a bad side effect as described here: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/11643-camcorder-line-tbc.html#ixzz7BLqLo4Hb

Snapshots show first without ES15 and then with ES15 (as per filename). I've also attached them as a zip file.

Snapshot 1:
    [Attachment 61642 - Click to enlarge]

[Attachment 61643 - Click to enlarge]

Snapshot 2:
    [Attachment 61644 - Click to enlarge]

[Attachment 61645 - Click to enlarge]

Snapshot 3:
    [Attachment 61646 - Click to enlarge]

[Attachment 61647 - Click to enlarge]

Snapshot 4:
    [Attachment 61648 - Click to enlarge]

[Attachment 61649 - Click to enlarge]

Snapshot 5:
    [Attachment 61650 - Click to enlarge]

[Attachment 61651 - Click to enlarge]
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote