VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello. I'm very much a novice at ripping so please be gentle with me.

I have two different problems to solve.
    I'm using Staxrip 2.8.0.
    1: An anime series that I can encode using QTGMC with okay results but with lots of 'in-between ghost frames'. It's supposed to be possible to do an IVTC on it together with decimate but since I'm a novice, I can't get it to work.

Original info (very scant) on what needs to be done to the file is available here:
    NYAA

Here is a piece of the episode that is a good place to start:
    CLIP
    I have tried all the IVTC options in Staxrip and all leave in-between images in the end result.
    I also tried the Assume TFF command with similar results:
    AssumeTFF()
    TFM()
    TDecimate()

A screen grap of my TIVTC:
    GRAB

This is what the scene looks like in the linked rip:
    TH05

I'm doing my own rip to preserve as much of the original quality as possible without softening the image like the rip does.

2: A film where most frames are progressively stored but that has interlaced frames at some scene cuts.
    dgmpgdec2006 reports this as 97.5% progressive.

I can do a frame repair with QTGMC Progressive but I lose a lot of detail in the progressive frames.
    How do I make these interlaced frames progressive without affecting the quality of the rest of the frames?

Here's a sample with two such scene cuts. The first at 1min 12secs and the second at 2min 7secs.
    Progressive

I hope I'm not breaking any rules of this forum.
    Quote Quote  
  2. The second sample is easy so I'll begin with that.
    Originally Posted by ericf View Post
    I can do a frame repair with QTGMC Progressive but I lose a lot of detail in the progressive frames.
    How do I make these interlaced frames progressive without affecting the quality of the rest of the frames?