VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I recently imported hours of video from my Dad's MiniDV camcorder to .avi files using Scenalyzer. Yesterday I tried to play them on my Samsung TV (off portable HD) but the files weren't recognized. This is the first time I've had a video file not recognized by the TV as I've played numerous video files/formats on it over the years without any issue(s). I'm an amateur when it comes to this stuff but I've deduced the issue is the code. The files are DVSD codec and I don't see it listed as a supported codec https://developer.samsung.com/smarttv/develop/specifications/media-specifications/2016...fications.html

I don't intend to burn the files to DVD or anything like that so my questions are, whats the best codec to use so that I can play the files on my TV and that would have the broadest compatibility without loosing quality. Second, whats the best software to make the change?
    Quote Quote  
  2. DV is rarely supported outside a computer. Try converting to interlaced h.264 and aac in MP4.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    DV is rarely supported outside a computer. Try converting to interlaced h.264 and aac in MP4.
    Thanks for the reply.
    I don't see an aac option but I see a h.264 and h.265 + MP4.
    Would the h.265 circled in the screenshot be better?
    [Attachment 60338 - Click to enlarge]
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Edit: I see the aac is the audio codec.
    Quote Quote  
  5. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Encode to h.264,most tvs won't play h.265.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by johns0 View Post
    Encode to h.264,most tvs won't play h.265.
    Thanks!
    I'm using VLC to convert to avi format with h.264 and aac for audio, I'm seeing two issues.