VideoHelp Forum

Try StreamFab Downloader and download from Netflix, Amazon, Youtube! Or Try DVDFab and copy Blu-rays!

Try StreamFab Downloader and download streaming video from Youtube, Netflix, Amazon! Download free trial.

+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    Wasn't sure where to put this.

There's lots of content on YouTube where the uploader adds some variation on "I don't own this content, no copyright infringement intended". My first impression is that these notices are silly - obviously everyone knows that you don't own the content - my sense is it in no way protects them as far as a copyright claim if the owner were to choose to make an issue of it.

Or am I mistaken? Is there some valid reason to put up such a notice?
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    I am not a lawyer, but agree: SILLY, waste of time & effort, no meaningful protection from lawsuits.

Scott
    Quote Quote  
  3. It is just as important as the Do Not Remove This Tag notice?
    I assume there is some protection from adding this. Without it, they can pretend you are saying that you created this content? That you own this?
    Quote Quote  
  4. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    The person saying he doesn't own this and posts anyways should be sued if he posted a copyright video,saying he doesn't own it just states the fact that he should be charged if it's illegal.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by brassplyer View Post
    Is there some valid reason to put up such a notice?
    None at all. The people doing this seem to think it'll protect them from copyright claims. Of course, it doesn't.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Those stupid disclaimers go back decades, nothing new.