VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello everyone,

I haven't done one of these for a while and now that I have a few days off I decided to do a new one, with a test sample that I have never used before. The source for this test is an excellent 10-bit, HEVC, 4k, HDR file named "LG Chess 4K Demo". I don't remember where I go this and it's too big to attach to this forum but a google search should turn it up.

The mediainfo for this file is as follows:

Video
    ID : 257 (0x101)
    Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
    Format : HEVC
    Format/Info : High Efficiency Video Coding
    Format profile : Main 10@L5.1@High
    HDR format : SMPTE ST 2086, HDR10 compatible
    Codec ID : 36
    Duration : 1 min 52 s
    Width : 3 840 pixels
    Height : 2 160 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 16:9
    Frame rate : 59.940 (60000/1001) FPS
    Color space : YUV
    Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
    Bit depth : 10 bits
    Writing library : ATEME Titan KFE 3.7.3 (4.7.3.1001)
    Color range : Limited
    Color primaries : BT.2020
    Transfer characteristics : PQ
    Matrix coefficients : BT.2020 non-constant
    Mastering display color primaries : Display P3
    Mastering display luminance : min: 0.0500 cd/m2, max: 1000 cd/m2

A few notes about this test, I used the latest build of Staxrip, which doesn't support this file, so I was forced to use the latest build of Shotcut to convert it to something Staxrip does support. When i loaded it into Shotcut, it asks if i want to convert it to an edit friendly format, which btw is the proper behavior, not like some half-baked, overpriced software that wants to convert everything to "ProRes-like".

I was given 3 choices and I chose the highest quality which resulted in a source file with this mediainfo:

Video
    ID : 2
    Format : YUV
    Codec ID : V_MS/VFW/FOURCC / ULH2
    Codec ID/Info : Ut Video Lossless Codec
    Codec ID/Hint : Ut Video
    Duration : 1 min 52 s
    Bit rate : 2 016 Mb/s
    Width : 3 840 pixels