VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Search Comp PM
    Hello!

    I have a collection of DVCAM tapes that I want to capture on my Windows 10 PC using a Sony DSR-50. I'm guessing my best bet is to use the S-Video and Audio monitor outputs circled in the attached image?

    If so, what's the easiest way to input to my PC? Any recommendations for adaptors or converters?

    Cheers,
    Evan
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	dsr_50_outputs.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	3.44 MB
ID:	59218  

    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by e_g_t View Post
    I have a collection of DVCAM tapes that I want to capture on my Windows 10 PC using a Sony DSR-50.
    DSR-50? Picture shows DSR-70AP.

    Originally Posted by e_g_t View Post
    I'm guessing my best bet is to use the S-Video and Audio monitor outputs circled in the attached image?
    Completely bad guessing. Buy Firewire IEEE1394 pci-e card and TRANSFER (NOT CAPTURE) tapes to PC.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Capturing Memories dellsam34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Member Since 2005, Re-joined in 2016
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by e_g_t View Post
    what's the easiest way to input to my PC? Any recommendations for adaptors or converters?
    The easiest way is to use the firewire if a desktop, if a laptop use one of the Pinnacle devices that can route your DV data via USB port, note that USB 3.0 may or may not work for this purpose.
    Quote Quote  
  4. What you really need is the updated model with firewire.


    Image
    [Attachment 59232 - Click to enlarge]



    You may want to look into renting a DSR40
    Quote Quote  
  5. Capturing Memories dellsam34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Member Since 2005, Re-joined in 2016
    Search PM
    We were under the impression that he has Sony DSR-50 which it is equipped with firewire port, I have no clue why he thinks he got the DSR-50? Maybe a label came off and he guessed the model #?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Search Comp PM
    Ah, *&^$ not a DSR-50 then! Not sure where I got that idea from, apologies. Given that it has no firewire port, then what are my options to output from this bit of kit? Hence my S-Video + Audio out suggestion.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Search Comp PM
    OMG! DSR-A70AP really doesn't have DV in/out in default configuration...
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads