VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello everyone,

I recently got Digimon on DVD and this is what results I get playing it in a video player:

[Attachment 58732 - Click to enlarge]

[Attachment 58733 - Click to enlarge]

I'm talking about the strange artifacts in the Digimon logo in the first photo and around the fireball in the second photo.

Tried de-interlacing with handbrake, but the result stays similar. I'm new to this, so I have no idea what this is called and how to solve it. If anyone can help me, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  2. It's called Dotcrawl. Its origin is from luma/chroma crosstalk on composite video. There are avisynth filters to suppress it, but it may be tough.
    You can read more about it here:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dot_crawl

Use the 'S-Video' or 'Component' connection if you have it instead of 'Composite', as luma and chroma are separate in S-Video or 'Compoment' connections.
    It may however be that the Dotcrawl is already burned in the DVD source from a poor transfer.
    Last edited by Sharc; 5th May 2021 at 12:01.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thank you for explaining this to me and sharing your wisdom.

I am playing the disc on my computer through HDMI, 1080p, with VLC (also have PowerDVD and MPCHC, same results)

I'm going to look into those filters, but I'll be honest, avisynth is hard for me to understand.
    Last edited by LighthouseonaCliff; 6th May 2021 at 16:59.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by LighthouseonaCliff View Post
    I am playing the disc on my computer through HDMI, 1080p, with VLC (also have PowerDVD and MPCHC, same results)
    Then I am afraid the dotcrawl is already baked into the source (DVD) rather than being caused by your playback scenario. You would need to try to fix it using avisynth filters, or live with it
    Quote Quote