VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Good evening fellow editors,

I am not a beginner when it comes to video editing, but I am a beginner when it comes to ProRes RAW in 4k, I started using this codec recently and I came across 1gb every 10 seconds, I will need additional space, my question is as follows:

- What type of external disk do I need to buy? Can I buy an HDD with 20Mb of writing / reading, or do I need to go for SSD?

Thanks
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Prores Raw 4k requires ~40-100MBps, aka 320-800Mbps. You storage subsystem will need to comfortably accommodate this, and if you ever intend to do editing and would need to both read AND write, you should more likely be able to support 2.5x to 3x those rates.

You use whatever medium can provide this. Usually this is SSD, but could be RAID HDDs, or at the upper end even RAID SSDs. Not even the fastest plain HDDs can support it, though.

Do the math and work your way backwards to arrive at what you will need.

And I shouldn't need to mention this because it should be obvious, but normally it isn't much of an issue, yet it is here: look at ALL the links in the chain. They all need to support the rate you choose, and the weakest links will determine the bottleneck points.

Scott
    Last edited by Cornucopia; 12th Apr 2021 at 08:41.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Both of them use usb 3.0 to transfer, which although maybe not ideal, should be decent enough. That is only part of the story, though.
    The 1st one (HDD) doesn't specify the read or write speed. That is a problem - if this drive was fast enough, they probably would be bragging about it.
    The 2nd one (SSD) might be acceptable for some of those 4k raw bitrates but not for others.