VideoHelp Forum


Try DVDFab Video Downloader and rip Netflix video! Or Try DVDFab and copy Blu-rays! or rip iTunes movies!
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 23 of 23
Thread
  1. Hi, was looking for some advice i am currently playing 2 games at different times that keep restarting my pc unexpectedly, i could be playing for hours, then they crash and restart pc just a black screen and you know its restarted, both are 2/3 years old, i have 40gb ram (32 which is a few months old), gtx1660 6gb which is a few months old, my 850w psu is almost 2 years old, and a ryzen 7 1700 cpu, the heatsink isnt blocked and there isnt anything else running in the background, i done a furmark test earlier and a 1 hour occt test yesterday that checks everything and neither caused the pc to crash, and the psu seems to be running fine also, i have msi afterburner in the background, my graphics card isnt overheating and my cpu has been set to alarm if it goes over 80 degress and didnt before the restart, so im lost as to why this is happening everything is working fine and not overheating, the only other thing is ive been using a Fling trainer on both games which is running on each game when its crashed, but i use these quite alot and ive never had any problem with them before but see no reason as to why they would make pc restart after an a few hours of playing.

    any other help or advice would be appreciated as ive run out of ideas

    Thanks
    Last edited by adamf154; 7th Apr 2021 at 15:22.
    Quote Quote  
  2. How can you have 40 GB RAM? Either 32, 64, 128, .. everything else doesn‘t make sense.
    I don‘t know the GTX1600. Please be precise with the specs of your pc.
    Quote Quote  
  3. There is a 1650, 1660 with or without Ti, with or without super, then there is the 1060, ... lots of possibilities.
    Quote Quote  
  4. why cant i have 40 gb, 2x16 gb = 32gb and an 8gb = 40 gb and its actually a gtx1660
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    How is the memory installed ?


    i.e. 1 32gb or 2*16gb. Same with the original 8gb.


    And is the memory identically rated and installed in the slots in accordance with the mainboard instructions ?
    Quote Quote  
  6. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Sounds like your ram has issues,take out the ram that is different and just use a matched pair(2x16gb).I tried using 2x16gb matched pair with a different set of 2x8gb match pair and my system would reset but not with either used separately.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    So now reading your reply, you have 3 slots occupied ?
    Quote Quote  
  8. ram is 2x16gb in first 2 slots and an 8gb in one of the other slots but its nothing to do with the ram, i have been playing other games before these 2 without any crashes and pc is running fine otherwise
    Quote Quote  
  9. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    You tested everything else and said your temps were good so just for testing take out the 8gb ram and see if you can run those 2 games without issues.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Remove the 8 gb stick as a first step, this does not help at all.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Well you asked for advice and everyone suggests a memory mis-match. Those two games could be more memory intensive and would then explain why you have not had issues before.


    So the solid test is to remove the single 8gb and, again, follow the mainboard guide as to how you install two sticks - sometimes they have to go into alternative slots and not adjacent ones.


    If you then have no reboot you have your answer.
    Quote Quote  
  12. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    that ryzen uses dual channel memory that REQUIRES matched pairs of sticks in the proper slots.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  13. ok i took the memory out and its not a memory problem, im starting to think its the game trainer that im using, thats only the same thing left with both games crashing the same way
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Well from a diagnostic viewpoint you could have eliminated that even before you started the thread.


    And it appears that you ran that trainer before and with these games ?
    Quote Quote  
  15. well not really it could take hours for it to crash, but this way i get other ideas that i havent thought of incase it might be something else and can keep playing and testing other things
    Quote Quote  
  16. ok so ive found out its not the trainers that are crashing my pc, i was playing one of the games last night without the trainer and it crashed twice to the desktop, so i thought it might be that when the trainer was being used, but i restarted my pc this morning and as soon as it loaded i clicked firefox and it crashed again, so i started playing the game again today without the trainer and it restarted the pc, and when it loaded i clicked firefox again and the pc restarted again and thenagain after firefox was opened, so i left it until everything had loaded and it didnt crash, im not saying its firefox but im going to restart it a few times and see what happens, as a precaution im probably going to format my ssd and reinstall windows its a pain but i think its nearly a year since i got my ssd, that ssd is just for windows, all my files are on other ssd's
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    If a car has a flat tyre, you do not change the car. You change the tyre.


    So here if you suspect a program is causing the issue you remove it and, if you need it, download it again and do a fresh install of that.


    But surely Firefox was not running when you were playing those games, and surely you have been using that fine before, unless that is not your usual browser.


    Of course a bad update is always a possibility.
    Quote Quote  
  18. well if im not using the program it shouldnt be a problem, i downloaded a different copy of the game but it crashed to desktop aswell and i didnt use the trainer, the game is almost finished i think, so i wont download anty other versions to try it and firefox is always running, it only crashed 3 times when i restarted pc and selected it but firefox has just been updated, not sure if there was any crashes before that, but reinstalling windows will clean eveything up and i can start afresh and i can then see what happens when i start playing the games again
    Quote Quote  
  19. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    start thinking outside your little box. it may not be a program/game. heat or a bad memory stick is more likely. have you cleaned the dust bunnies out of the heat sink lately? is it an oem hsf which suck big time? have you run a full low level memory test on the ram?
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by adamf154 View Post
    Hi, was looking for some advice i am currently playing 2 games at different times that keep restarting my pc unexpectedly, i could be playing for hours, then they crash and restart pc just a black screen and you know its restarted, both are 2/3 years old, i have 40gb ram (32 which is a few months old), gtx1660 6gb which is a few months old, my 850w psu is almost 2 years old, and a ryzen 7 1700 cpu, the heatsink isnt blocked and there isnt anything else running in the background, i done a furmark test earlier and a 1 hour occt test yesterday that checks everything and neither caused the pc to crash, and the psu seems to be running fine also, i have msi afterburner in the background, my graphics card isnt overheating and my cpu has been set to alarm if it goes over 80 degress and didnt before the restart, so im lost as to why this is happening everything is working fine and not overheating, the only other thing is ive been using a Fling trainer on both games which is running on each game when its crashed, but i use these quite alot and ive never had any problem with them before but see no reason as to why they would make pc restart after an a few hours of playing.

    any other help or advice would be appreciated as ive run out of ideas

    Thanks
    check your computer to se if it has all the latest software & security updates
    and the latest driver update for your computers graphics card.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Thinking 'out of the box' is , I guess, the hardest thing to do.


    One gets an opinion that it is not 'A' so it must be B- Z. Trouble is that the issue could have been 'A' all along and one wildly test everything else.


    And what-if that Windoze reinstall also results in the same result ?


    Look. I am not talking randomly. I experienced crashes some years ago when I mixed memory. If you want me to link to the thread then I will. And similar to what Johns0 experienced.


    Of course those games could be 'buggy'. People all the time revise them to 'improve' the experience.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Originally Posted by aedipuss View Post
    start thinking outside your little box. it may not be a program/game. heat or a bad memory stick is more likely. have you cleaned the dust bunnies out of the heat sink lately? is it an oem hsf which suck big time? have you run a full low level memory test on the ram?
    the memory is only a few months old so shouldnt be faulty and i havent had any problems since it was installed, and the heatsink isnt dusty and nothing is overheating

    ive reinstalled windows, dont think i had a virus, but maybe there was something that was causing a problem, ill be trying the games later and tomorrow and ill see what happens
    Last edited by adamf154; 10th Apr 2021 at 10:09.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by adamf154 View Post
    the memory is only a few months old, and the heatsink isnt dusty
    Memory is likely to fail either within a few months, or after many years. Considering that you have a large amount of memory you may not see a problem normally if the error is in a high address area. You should really try running something like memtest86 that fully test all areas.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads