VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi! I've recently digitized my family's video 8 cassettes using a Sony Hi8 camcorder with TBC, S-Video and a Hauppauge USB capture card (encoded losslessly with Logarith).

I'm rather pleased with the results, but I have no experience with editing VHS-like raw material, and I'd appreciate any tips as to what tools/scripts to use to improve the quality (colour, interlacing, occasional artifacts, whatever else can be done with this kind of footage). I'm familiar with video editing tools, mainly Premiere, but I'm willing to spend some time on it and experiment. I've heard Avisynth scripts can yield good results with analog sources, but I've only just started looking into it.

You can watch the sample here.

It is pretty representative of all other tapes I have (all were watched perhaps twice and not for about 25 years, were recorded with the same camera and stored at the same place).
    Quote Quote  
  2. Your brights are blown out and the black level is pretty high. See if the capture device's video proc amp can get them in line.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Oops, wrong thread.
    Quote Quote  
  4. jagabo may have posted in the wrong thread, but he is correct: your whites are completely blown out. It's a HUGE loss of detail, and unlike shadows, which if too dark can sometimes be brightened to recover some detail, once whites are blown out, you've lost the detail forever.

So, you still need to do some work. I don't want to sound mean, but if this were for a client, I would not deliver it in this state. You can see the above 100 levels in the Vegas videoscope screen shot below.
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	temp levels.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	254.4 KB
ID:	57942  

Quote Quote  
  5. Yes, the "oops" message was a post that was meant for another thread. The bad levels message was for this thread.