VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi, It's my first time posting here because I couldn't find a solution to my problem.

A few months ago I brought my old VHS tapes to a "professional" video company here where I live, I thought they could do a better job than me digitalizing my tapes. When I received them I checked the video files and realized they had a lot of interlacing artifacts and combs, I searched on forums and found what de-interlacing could do.
    The problem is that de-interlacing is for interlaced videos (like VHS) and what I received was:

Progressive video (I checked It with different programs and all of them classified the video files as progressive)
    Video resolution: 1280x720 (720x576 VHS video and black bars all around)(We use PAL)

Even though It's progressive I tried to de-interlace with different programs but (I think) I got what you can expect of de-interlacing a progressive video.
    Here is a capture from the original video:
    [Attachment 57864 - Click to enlarge]

Here is a capture from the "de-interlaced" video:
    [Attachment 57867 - Click to enlarge]

I got the same results on different programs using different methods (Yadif, Bob, etc)

I know there are programs that can apply a blur effect to the jagged lines but I still have to deal with the "ghosting" of the image and even if it can be removed I don't think is gonna look good enough. I don't find any better solution rather than buying a capture device and re-capture again by myself using interlaced format, what are your thoughts on this?
    Is there any good way to fix it? If It's not what should I do to not make the same mistakes when re-capturing by myself?

PD: I've tried to see if the original tape had this problems and It doesn't, that means the problem is on the capturing process not on the tape.
    Last edited by Strift; 19th Mar 2021 at 09:19.
    Quote Quote