VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Dear all,

I'm new to video conversion and am trying to learn a little bit about it. I just did a basic test the outcome of which made me scratch my head:

I have an .m2ts file which contains one video stream and multiple audio and subtitle streams. As a first test, I have demuxed all streams, first using tsMuxeR, then eac3to. All audio and video streams which these both tools extracted were identical (compared via "fc /b").

Then I loaded the same source file into mkvtoolnix GUI, let it produce an .mkv file from it, and used gMKVExtractGUI to extract all streams from that .mkv file. To my surprise, I noticed that the video stream was different to the video streams I had obtained in the first test described above. I was slightly shorter - not only did the contents differ, but also the length.

I decided to investigate the subject further and again let mkvtoolnix GUI produce (mux) another .mkv file, this time using the single streams I had obtained from tsMuxeR in my first test as input. Then I demuxed that new file, again using gMKVExtractGUI. The outcome was the same: The video stream which was extracted from the new .mkv file was different from the original one.

In other words, mkvtoolnix seems to alter video streams (at least) when muxing them into an .mkv file. What do we lose by that alteration, and how can we prevent that?

Thank you very much in advance!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    One reason I vaguely remember: Video streams for specific purposes (for broadcast or for reading from slower media into decoders with a limited decoding buffer) need to stay above a minimal bitrate.

In case of DVB, multiplexing several programmes in a bouquet would cause issues if the bitrates of the contained programmes vary too much. Therefore they often get stuffed with fillers.