VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
Thread
  1. Hi
    I'm trying to upscale 4:3 interlaced DVD's using Topzas AI Video. VEAI can turn video into TIFF images but I lose the black bars giving me a resolution of 1440x1080. Also it doubles the framerate from 25 to 50. I would like to author these DVD's to Blu-ray

    How do I drop the framerate and add the black bars so that I meet Blu-ray compatibility?
    Could you recommend some software?
    I've tried experimenting with StaxRip, QTGMC and FFmpeg with limited success.

    My options seem to be:
    1280x720 at 50fps
    1920x1080 at 50fps interlaced
    1920x1080 at 25fps

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by jedi55 View Post
    My options seem to be:
    1280x720 at 50fps
    1920x1080 at 50fps interlaced
    1920x1080 at 25fps
    You forgot what you already have - 720x576 25i:

    https://www.videohelp.com/hd
    Quote Quote  
  3. @jedi55
    If you absolutely want to upscale the general procedure is something like
    - bob-deinterlace
    - crop the borders
    - rescale and add borders as needed for blu-ray frame size
    - re-interlace in case of 1920x1080i25
    - encode (with blu-ray compliant parameters)
    - author as Blu-ray and burn the disc

    Basic tools are Avisynth, x264 and tsMuxeR
    You could also import your DVD in BD Rebuilder which automates the process.
    Last edited by Sharc; 7th Mar 2021 at 02:31.
    Quote Quote  
  4. ... or you could save yourself a lot of time and just watch the DVD. It will look just the same.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Hi

    I've tried AviSynth+ with limited success.

    I tried FFmpeg with this code but was told it was not Blu-ray compatibility

    ffmpeg -r 50..00 -f image1 -s 1440x1080 -i %06d.tiff -vcdec libx264 crf 10 -pix_fmt yuv420p



    This is the link I'm using as a reference

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZhgK-SBlFQ&list=FLTyayUx9dhiB3Y6SUt7tlfQ&index=36




    This should be simple I dont understand why it is not.
    Upscale 4:3, adjust framerate, author to blu ray. This is really deppressing. I was looking forward to upscaling my obsolete DVD's. A distraction during lockdown.

    I don't understand how to make this happen. What does BD Rebuilder do? Does it add borders? Change framrates. Is tsMuxer the same?
    What about other software like davinci resolve, DVD Architect Studio or TMPGEnc Authoring Works 6?

    I've had some luck with VirtualDub2,

    Thank for any help
    Quote Quote  
  6. As I already mentioned, your DVD is already Blu-Ray compliant. In addition, as johnmeyer mentioned, it won't look any better at all upscaled to hi-def. As an exercise to see if you can do it, it might be a decent project. But don't fool yourself into thinking it's going to look any better upscaled and then made Blu-Ray compatible.

    What does BD Rebuilder do?
    Among other things it'll turn your DVD into a Blu-Ray.
    Last edited by manono; 7th Mar 2021 at 19:42.
    Quote Quote  
  7. I've seen what VEAI can do to DVD's. The AI upscaling is immpressive. I'm not expecting miracles just a less blurry experience. All I need is a little help.

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  8. Originally Posted by jedi55 View Post
    I've seen what VEAI can do to DVD's. The AI upscaling is immpressive. I'm not expecting miracles just a less blurry experience. All I need is a little help.

    Thanks
    You may want to collect some ideas about upscaling and VEAI from here:
    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/399360-so-where-s-all-the-Topaz-Video-Enhance-AI-discussion

    And yes, BD Rebuilder produces Blu-ray compliant output file structures and Blu-ray compliant discs (if this is what you really want) from DVD footage and adds borders as necessary etc., but it is not a "video enhancer". Still, be prepared for a learning curve.
    Last edited by Sharc; 8th Mar 2021 at 02:09.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    If one uses Topaz to upscale the footage, it would then (most likely) have to be re-encoded an additional
    time to make it Blu-Ray compatible. Or is this erroneous?

    Can Topaz open Avisynth scripts? If not, create a simple script to de-interlace/detelecine, resize and addborders.
    Encode to a lossless intermediate in Virtualdub (I've been using FFV1 in 8-bit,4:2:0 mode)
    Then encode this in Topaz

    Here's a simple Avisynth script to do the upscale (instead of Topaz), with the pillar boxing added
    Code:
    mpeg2source("C:\Users\davex\Desktop\avs_test\DVD-test_pal_test-43.d2v",cpu2="ooooxx")
    awarpsharp2(depth=2).sharpen(0.2)#.
    NNEDI3_rpow2(rfactor=2,cshift="spline36resize",fwidth=960,fheight=720)
    addborders(160,0,160,0)
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by davexnet; 8th Mar 2021 at 16:36.
    Quote Quote  
  10. That's very helpful thank you.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Anonymous333
    Guest
    Withdrawn
    Last edited by Anonymous333; 20th Jul 2021 at 06:50.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by MarkHevingham View Post
    .....
    Spline64Resize(1436,1072) for a PAL source.
    I have had very good results from DVD and I project onto a 14ft screen...

    And does that screen also detect that your aspect ratio is totally screwed ?


    Better explain where these numbers come from since they bear no relevance to 4:3 or 16:9 dvd
    Quote Quote  
  13. Anonymous333
    Guest
    Originally Posted by DB83 View Post
    Originally Posted by MarkHevingham View Post
    .....
    Spline64Resize(1436,1072) for a PAL source.
    I have had very good results from DVD and I project onto a 14ft screen...

    And does that screen also detect that your aspect ratio is totally screwed ?


    Better explain where these numbers come from since they bear no relevance to 4:3 or 16:9 dvd
    1440x1080 is the number however the figure i used gives a nice cut off of the mess that I saw on the image. I understand its probably not correct but it worked for me.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Resizing like that alone does NOT crop.


    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  15. Anonymous333
    Guest
    My apologies - I am obviously newer to this than I thought. Hopefully I will learn to upscale more efficiently and keep my gob shut until I know what I am talking about
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, lift ya game, Mark. Incompetence will not be tolerated!
    Quote Quote  
  17. Anonymous333
    Guest
    I felt that!
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    ^^ Mark.


    The reply, and others, recognises the requirement of set standards. What 'works' for you will inevitably not work for others. So we stick to the accepted.


    Remember that the actual topic refers to blu ray compatability. What may 'work for you' in some random scenario will confuse the sh*t out of others who are here to learn
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    That may be so, DB83, but there's no need to be rude about it.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Yeah really DB83.. you should have said "confuse the Fck out of others"
    For fck's sake!
    Quote Quote  
  21. Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    PAL
    Search Comp PM
    Don't use VEAI unless you want annoying artefacts to appear everywhere.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads