VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Yesterday i added a second m2 nvme into my computer. I use regular hdd for storage and the computer did not see any of the internal hdds. I know the hdds isn't bad they worked just fine before i added a second nvme. I know using nvme disables port 5 and 6 for sata i do not use those port when i built my pc with a nvme. The hard drivers work just fine in a docking station i tested on my laptop. Can someone tell me if nvme number 2 is the cause or something else? I thought it was the sata cords that was loose at first so i repluged them in one by one after i unplugged them. If anyone needs to know my motherboard is asus rog strix b450-f.

    I saw that but im running on sata ports 1-4 directly off the motherboard. I never had any issues access 3 of my hdds when i installed my viper nvme for windows 10. I do know if the wd blue nvme is the cause for windows 10 not picking up any hdds. All 3 hdds that is in my pc windows 10 no longer sees them I tried a different hdd that i do not want in my pc windows 10 saw it so i am not sure if the wd blue nvme is the cause cause for this or not.

    I know the sata cords are fine there brand new i even changed one to a different one and still same issue. I rather not take wd blue nvme out cause ts not use to get to. Anyone got a idea.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Sorry if i,m be rude but download the manual for your motherboard and start reading what is disabled if you put a first and second m2 into this board.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Look in device manager, check with diskpart.
    Quote Quote  
  4. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Does removing the second nvme bring back the hdds?
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    @jan5678 i did it saids when using nvme it dsiables ports 5 and 6 so i never pluged into those ports. it does not mention at all what would a second mvme do. @ProWo ill check i did check the admins part and no hdd drivers was list from 3 i tested. @johns0 ill try that.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Well according to the manual i have to confess that it can be complicated

    Image
    [Attachment 57686 - Click to enlarge]


    It looks like it depends on what processor you are using? if that is a ryzen first or second both m2 will work although m2_2 will NOT accept sata protocol.
    If using ryzen with radeon vega graphics it states only m2_1 and 2 sata ports but nothing about m2_2
    Quote Quote  
  7. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    It says that if m.2_2 is used then the video card (if used) will run at 8x instead of 16x mode,nothing about the other sata connectors.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Update i did end up taking the extra m2 out and it did not fix my problem i ended up rewiring alot of my stuff now 3 hard drivers show. So everything is fixed.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads