VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I am new to digitizing old analog video. I have dozens of Hi8 tapes (home movies) that I wish to digitally archive.

So, what is a good USB capture device that I can use with VirtualDub? I purchased a Dazzle unit, which came highly rated---only to find that it is total crap! It seems that they took their ancient stock, and put it in a new package. For one, it uses USB 1.0. No one has used USB 1.0 in 20 years! This has resulted in many jumps, inserted frames, and possible audio lag.

I have been trying to find a definitive answer to this question for hours. No luck. Sure, I would love to be able to afford a Magewell. But, that said, what are my other options? I have seen the Elgato and Hauppauge devices mentioned. But, there has also been some question as to whether these will work with Windows 10 and VirtualDub using uncompressed/lossless capture. Does anyone here have practical experience that they can share?

Laptop: Intel Core i7, 64 bit, nVidia GTX970m

Analog playback unit: Sony EV-C100 Hi8 VCR

Input source: S-Video
    Quote Quote  
  2. Capturing Memories dellsam34's Avatar
    Search PM
    Try Pinnacle 500-USB or 700-USB series, The driver may not work well under Wind 10 though.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Try Pinnacle 500-USB or 700-USB series, The driver may not work well under Wind 10 though.
    Unfortunately, both are listed as no longer available (both Amazon and New Egg).
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by anachronon View Post
    Unfortunately, both are listed as no longer available (both Amazon and New Egg).
    Then take a look on eBay or Craigslist.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Well the Hauppauge usb-live2 is supported by Win10 (requires a usb 2 port)

https://www.hauppauge.co.uk/site/products/data_usblive2.html

I can not actually vouch for it since I am on Win7.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Captures & Restoration lollo's Avatar
    Search Comp PM