VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Background: I've been a recording engineer for many years, but no video experience. Long time still photographer. I'm a pretty good geek, too.

Goals: to produce high quality videos (1080P/60) of cooking shows in my kitchen and live music events (typically bands in bars) using multiple cameras simultaneously.

Thoughts on workflow: I envision software that will let me play back four separate video streams simultaneously and allows me to switch between them much like old school video switchers. Choice of transitions would be nice.

Video gear: 3 video cameras 1080P/60 and DSLR that does video, also at 1080P/60. None support any form of time code.

Computer: HP Z440 with E5-1660 v3 CPU. 32 GB RAM. 1TB SSD. Video card is Nvidia Quadro K620. Win 10 Pro.
    This computer will support both the audio DAW and video editing software. It's unlikely I would ever be mixing the sound at the same time I'm editing video. More likely is full mixdown of audio first and then build the video around the audio.

Monitor: Samsung S27D390 and a modest budget for a second (hopefully larger) monitor

Software: Unknown

Methodology: In the case of kitchen based videos, only one camera will receive audio from a wireless lav mic. That would be the master audio track unless I add some music or something and that would be done either in the DAW or the video software. For live music, I would be using the FOH mixer as an interface into a computer directly, capturing every input from the stage discreetly. That would then be mixed down to a stereo master track in the studio and used as the soundtrack for the video. None of the audio captured by the cameras would be used except possibly for synchronization reasons.

Questions: