VideoHelp Forum


Try DVDFab Video Downloader and rip Netflix video! Or Try DVDFab and copy Blu-rays! or rip iTunes movies!
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,
    I have set of files of different video files having different video and audio contained in different containers like mp4, etc.
    I want to convert the same files to x264 video and mp3 audio files using ffmpeg formula.
    If there is a fast flag to recommend , this also be recommended.
    Normally x264 supports aac audio, but I want it in mp3 audio format
    plelase give me the solution
    Quote Quote  
  2. Something like:
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.ext -map 0 -c:v libx264 -preset veryfast -crf 20 -ac 2 -c:a mp3 output.mkv
    -i input.ext : specifies the input file
    -map 0 : specifies all streams from the input file should be copied (including chapters, subtitles, etc., otherwise only video and audio will be copied)
    -c:v libx264 : compress the video with x264
    -preset veryfast : very fast encoding, not the greatest quality, others: ultrafast, superfast, veryfast, faster, fast, medium, slow, slower, veryslow, placebo
    -crf 20 : lower values give higher quality, bigger files; higher values give lower quality, smaller files
    -ac 2 : convert audio to stereo (eg, downmix 5.1 to 2 channel stereo)
    -c:a mp3 " encode the audio as mp3
    -b:a 192k : the audio bitrate to use
    output.mkv : the output filename, mkv container
    Quote Quote  
  3. App Digger
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    IMHO, it should be -c:a libmp3lame, not -c:a mp3.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by JKyle View Post
    IMHO, it should be -c:a libmp3lame, not -c:a mp3.
    -c:a mp3 is the intern mp3 encoder.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Yes, libmp3lame is the better mp3 encoder. I can just never remember the name (I haven't used mp3 encoding in a long time).
    Quote Quote  
  6. App Digger
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by ProWo View Post
    -c:a mp3 is the intern mp3 encoder.
    AFAIK, there's only two mp3 encoders for a regular FFmpeg build: libmp3lame and mp3_mf. mp3 is a codec name, not an encoder name for a regular FFmpeg build such as BtbN's. But, yes, calling -c:a mp3 itself does not raise an error either because it calls libmp3lame internally.
    Last edited by JKyle; 26th Jan 2021 at 12:02.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Originally Posted by JKyle View Post
    Originally Posted by ProWo View Post
    -c:a mp3 is the intern mp3 encoder.
    AFAIK, there's only two mp3 encoders for a regular FFmpeg build: libmp3lame and mp3_mf. mp3 is a codec name, not an encoder name for a regular FFmpeg build such as BtbN's. But, yes, calling -c:a mp3 itself does not raise an error either because it calls libmp3lame internally.
    Thx
    Quote Quote  
  8. I tried a few different builds. With "-c:a mp3" one defaulted to libmp3lame, the other mp3_mf. So you probably want to specify which you want on the command line: "-c:a libmp3lame" or "-c:a mp3_mf". ffmpeg shows you which encoder it's using.
    Last edited by jagabo; 26th Jan 2021 at 17:15.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, Jagabo, I used your formula . thanks.
    mere mp3 did not proceed with some error.
    i changed that part of libmp3lame and it is proceeding.
    I have to check the time
    while processing , it says q as 25, what does that mean
    I checked the time , it is a time consuming, probably due to the reencoding.
    Last edited by jraju; 27th Jan 2021 at 04:10.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, today only I have seen a thread about handbrakecli, command line tool
    Will that be faster Jagabo.
    If so, kindly give the formula in handbrakecli
    if not inform me please
    Quote Quote  
  11. Handbrake uses the same x264 encoder as ffmpeg. So it's the same speed with the same settings.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Originally Posted by jraju View Post
    while processing , it says q as 25, what does that mean
    That means the quantizer it's using at that time is 25.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, Yes. Thanks for the reply.I also noticed that while processing ffmpeg command above, the fps changed on decreasing rate say 24 to 17, and I also noticed that q remains at 25. I think that 25 is the video frame rate which is constant at 25 as per the properties of the video.
    what is this fps rate dcreasing on process. Is that the processsing frame rate and nothing to do with the constant rate or, the video has different fps , variable rate, in the entire video.
    This is to knowsomething
    Quote Quote  
  14. Here's an example status line:

    Code:
    frame= 2302 fps=656 q=25.0 size=    5376kB time=00:01:33.59 bitrate= 470.5kbits/s speed=26.7x
    I believe this is what each value means:

    "frame= 2302" is the current frame being processed.

    "fps=656" is the average rate at which it is encoding frames, so far.

    "q=25.0" With bitrate encoding it is the average quantizer, so far. I'm not sure exactly what it means with crf encoding (it remains constant).

    "size= 5376kB" is the current size of the output file.

    "time=00:01:33.59" is the timestamp of the frame currently being processed.

    "bitrate= 470.5kbits/s" this is the average bitrate, so far.

    "speed=26.7x" is the average encoding speed relative to real time, so far. For example, a 30fps video encoding at 60 fps is encoding at 2x real time.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, thanks . Command line takes a lot of time compared to converters , it seems.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Originally Posted by jraju View Post
    Hi, thanks . Command line takes a lot of time compared to converters , it seems.
    No. Speed of all the free editor/encoders are about the same -- as they all use the same encoders (x264, x265, nvenc, qsv...). It all depends on which encoder and the settings you use.
    Last edited by jagabo; 28th Jan 2021 at 00:25.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads