VideoHelp Forum


Try DVDFab Video Downloader and rip Netflix video! Or Try DVDFab and copy Blu-rays! or rip iTunes movies!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3
FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 31 to 60 of 73
Thread
  1. to get the following file: Part1 [ intermission ] Part2

    Use Avidemux (or another lossless cutter): Select the credit section on keyframes >> Copy
    then place the marker on the end of Part1 and paste.

    Save the file and test playback in the video player (especially after the end of Part1).
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, butterw,
    I am totally new to the use of avidemux. I opened the video.
    If you could just give me menu wise acess to the credit secion on key frames and to the marker.
    This will definitely helf me to quickly know the process
    Last edited by jraju; 10th Jan 2021 at 06:32.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Doing lossless cutting/editing of a source video with avidemux is very simple. Use the keyframe and marker buttons in the bottom navigation toolbar:
    << previous keyframe, next keyframe >>
    [A: start marker,
    B]: end marker
    > play/pause

    to achieve Part1 [ intermission ] Part2:
    0. Open the source Video in Avidemux
    1. Select the intermission [starting on a keyframe.....] by setting markers A and B
    2. Copy CTRL-C
    3. Set the (current position) cursor where you want to insert at the end of Part1 (must also be a keyframe)
    4. Paste CTRL-V
    5. Save the output video
    6. Play the modified section in your video player/TV to check there are no issues.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Note that AVIDemux shows the frame type at the bottom center of the window, I frames are keyframes. You can navigate directly to keyframes with up and down arrows on the keyboard.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, Jagabo, exactly . Thanks for butterw for tips.
    I did select the play button and just select a and b marker, after allowing play from 0L00:00 to desired time , and then move the slilder to the point where I, want this to be copied and I slected paste, but i could not see increase of duration as a sign of check . But the same duration was there, denoting that I had not done it properly.
    Jagabo, will try to locate the key frames at the centre bottom.
    So, I think i made a mistake of just using the slilder timelilne, instead of key frames.
    should I also mark A and b on the key frames. will try and report
    Both of your clues worked.
    I will check the running output and will report.
    Why save the file by default gives mkv format instead of my original mp4 format.
    I just selected all files and added the mp4 extension in the saved file.
    If i suppose select the first frame as marker A, will it get selected or the next to the first frame. Here is I am somewhat confused.
    Last edited by jraju; 10th Jan 2021 at 23:05.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Originally Posted by jraju View Post
    I did select the play button and just select a and b marker, after allowing play from 0L00:00 to desired time , and then move the slilder to the point where I, want this to be copied and I slected paste, but i could not see increase of duration as a sign of check . But the same duration was there, denoting that I had not done it properly.
    Did you select Edit -> Copy after marking in and out, and before selecting Edit -> Paste?

    Originally Posted by jraju View Post
    Why save the file by default gives mkv format instead of my original mp4 format.
    You got an MKV file because Output Format is set to MKV Muxer by default.
    Last edited by jagabo; 11th Jan 2021 at 10:14.
    Quote Quote  
  7. - Video Output: Copy and Audio Output: Copy means you are not re-encoding (which results in a fast lossless operation).
    This is only possible if you respect the rules on cutting on special frames called keyframes (type: I-FRM) as detailed below.

    Copy/Paste a section of the same video in Avidemux:
    - Set selection markers A, B (A must be on a keyframe)
    ......[A-----[B.........
    - Copy (CTRL-C), you could also cut if desired
    - Set current position to a keyframe (I)
    .................I...........
    -Paste (CTRL-V): insertion will happen before keyframe I:
    .................[------]I...........

    Saving the full edited file to mp4
    - The default in avidemux is to Save the Selected segment rather than the full file. To save the full file you need to first remove the segment selection, which is achieved by removing the markers (menu command "Edit > Reset Markers" or the associated hotkey).
    - Change Output Format from mkv to MP4 muxer if desired.
    - Save (CTRL-S)


    A good way to learn about cutting on keyframes is to try the different operations with a short video where each scene starts on a a keyframe.
    ex: if you save a selected segment rather than the full file, you must ensure A is on keyframe.
    It's possible to do a Cut instead instead of a Copy, or even Delete if desired.
    When you Delete to the end, it's a bit different the last frame is deleted, but not the starting frame of the selection (I'm not sure why ?):
    ......................[A...............End
    Last edited by butterw; 13th Jan 2021 at 07:01. Reason: +Saving the full edited file to mp4
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, butterw,
    This is the problem , i am facing , i just marked a and b, and then paste in the half of the full video and saved the video as such. i just played and tested that the paste was successful.
    But as I see the saved video file, it only saved the segment i saved with A nd B endpoints, and not the full video. This is clearlly understood from the post above by you.
    How do i save a full video , like I want. Still i am confused with key frames.
    Is this a different location.
    What I think is the timeline slider is the key frame. Is it not.
    Is my presumption of key frame correct
    Because, when I use up and downkeys, this only shows the next and previous Images on the timeline, which i think as a key frame.
    But why do it saves as a segment , instead of a new file contianing this.
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	trailvideo.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	427.9 KB
ID:	56767  

    Quote Quote  
  9. To save the full file, you must first remove the markers/selection: use the menu command "Edit > Reset Markers".

    Some of the frames are special frames called keyframes (type: I-FRM).
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Do you say, that after pasting, i have to reset markers and then save.
    Is the yellow rounded portion , the key frame,
    your second part of the answer , says that I have to choose the key frame to copy and mark A and B.
    How do I access the key frames in the video timeline
    Quote Quote  
  11. Originally Posted by jraju View Post
    Do you say, that after pasting, i have to reset markers and then save.
    YES

    How do I access the key frames in the video timeline
    Use the bottom toolbar buttons for navigation or the arrow keys:
    >Play/stop (Space), <=prev. frame (Left), =>next frame (Right), << previous Keyframe(Down), next Keyframe (Up)>>, [A start Marker, [B end Marker
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    So , my prewumption is correct, That is ok and fine.
    If suppose, I have , say 40 episodes, which I want each file add a slected segment , containing within A and B and this part is automatically inclluded in the middle of each episode of the video, just adding this at the middle point of each video, for all the videos at one stroke instead of doing it manually for each video, kike a batch execute using avidemux.
    To clearly explain, I save a segment from the video to be copied to all episodes that I select
    The duration is to be exact at the middle point of the concerned videos of each file
    The uniform copying of the video is at this middle point
    add the segment to the videos
    and then resettting AB and then save , go to the next video, get the middle point, and add and so on up to the videos I selected
    Can i save the mp4 files as the orignal mp4 files without mkv extension. I do not see any option to change this . My videos are h 264, mp3 .
    There are ofcourse, formats in the output section, but i want to the format of the original video like h234 in the saved format
    Last edited by jraju; 12th Jan 2021 at 22:22.
    Quote Quote  
  13. To save to mp4 change Output Format from mkv to MP4 muxer.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Will it encode as it is in the original.
    I mean h264 format, having x264 video and mp3audio format compatible with my tv.
    Will mere slection of mp4, will retain the original and actual video audio codec
    Are there anything to chosse the same video format as original in the output.
    if so, please let me know.
    what about batch insertion of segment in all videos at one go of a folder containing so many mp4 files
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Will just selecting the output format, would just retain the original file format intact while copying a segment
    If i chose the exact format in output video, audio and then select mp4, it takes too much time to convert a video.
    what is copying default option means in avidemux
    Quote Quote  
  16. - Video Output: Copy and Audio Output: Copy
    in Avidemux means you are not re-encoding (meaning a fast lossless operation).

    I believe it's possible to save mp4 with mp3 audio in Avidemux. But my recommendation would be to use the mkv container for h264+mp3. With mp4 Output Format, I only use h264 video +aac audio.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, butterw,
    Burt my tv samsung does not support the mkv container
    Ok. Moreover aac format is not accepted by the samsung tv
    Now please say about batch processing of avidemux . I have seen a general example at avdemux site to how to execute it as a bat file.
    Ok, if you do not know,
    kindly let me know this .
    Instead of selecting A and B end porits, can i copy a fixed segment containing the title song, that conatined within A nd B, which I have saved as a separate file of same format to each episode.
    I fetch the part 1, and i had selected the segment video by clicking append and then browse to the file and opened it. But i think, append is a command that would add a file at the end of the running video is it not.
    please say, which menu i have to select and how to add the segment file in a video of rull length.
    Quote Quote  
  18. From what I understand you have managed to process one file using avidemux and have tested that the end-result is satisfactory.

    You now want to batch process a folder of files.
    Be aware that using the same intermission segment for all files will be possible without re-encoding only if all the files have the same encoding settings.

    You want to check this on a second file first.
    1) Save the intermission segment from Episode1 to a separate file.
    2) Load Episode2 and Append the intermission (appends are at the end in Avidemux)
    3) Select then Cut (instead of Copy) the intermission and Paste at the desired position.
    4) Save Episode2 and check it works.

    It seems Avidemux does have batch processing, but its a more advanced feature and not one I use.
    https://www.avidemux.org/admWiki/doku.php?id=tutorial:batch_processing
    As an alternative, Avidemux is based on the command-line tool ffmpeg, which could be used directly to automate the process. As another alternative since the output is mkv, it's possible to use mkvmerge.
    Typically you need a batch script with the correct commands and syntax.

    IMO, It may be simpler to just process each file individually (the whole manipulation takes less than a minute per file).
    Last edited by butterw; 14th Jan 2021 at 07:30.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, Nice.
    I have used ffmpge before hand for quick conversion before.
    could you supply the ffmpeg formula. Ofcourse, all the files are saved in the same encoding.
    what i want is , a kind of break video point, that is the title song segment to separate long videwing.
    The episodes are some are 2 hours, 3hours, 1 hour 50minutes. i want a maximum of one hour of watching.
    i want the segment to be processed or added to each of the video files in a separate folder to be processed
    exact position may be half of the whole video on each episodes,
    the title segment may occupy irregular time duration on each episode, and so I take a segment as constant for all the files for append purpose
    I do not want any encoding change, but just add the segment video on each video, which has also the same encoding for compatibility purpose.
    If that could be done thro ffmpeg at one formula, then i will try whole processing Please also say , where should i have the source files and segment files
    Quote Quote  
  20. It's certainly feasible with a custom ffmpeg bat file:
    - insert intermission.mkv on the keyframe after 1h on a folder of .mkv files
    - name the output: filename_out.mkv

    I don't think there is an insert command in ffmpeg, meaning you need to first split the file in two at one hour, then concat the three segments.
    Last edited by butterw; 14th Jan 2021 at 07:29.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I tried your 17.11 hr reply.
    i was allowed append the video.
    then when I append and then select cut from edit menu , I receive error that entire video could not be cut and was asked to select a and b end points.
    How do I select the segment after going through the append please
    Quote Quote  
  22. The following ffmpeg .bat script will create filename_out.mp4 files such as:
    Part1_60min | inter.mkv | Part2
    Part2 will start at the keyframe before 60min (there will be overlap of a few seconds between Part1 and Part2).
    Last edited by butterw; 15th Jan 2021 at 13:00. Reason: my corrected version is page 3
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, Really thank you for providing the bat.
    I will try and report back.
    I asked this batch, as I found different duration of episodes as I have pointed out.
    thanks once again butterw
    kindly say,

    can I rename , the input file and output files to my video name that i choose.
    From the little understanding i am having with ffmpeg,
    i think that you have given me the bat for all the files in the folder
    what would be the name of output files
    please , i will try in the meanwhile to my first ten episodes in a folder.
    Last edited by jraju; 14th Jan 2021 at 22:46.
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, buttwerw.
    should the output folder be created inside the main folder that has ffmpeg and other files including source file.
    Will it auto find the subdirectory to copy the output files.please
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, i come across some errors which i enclosed.
    I also enclosed the echo on file
    please correct and send
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	ffmpegone.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	409.1 KB
ID:	56798  

    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Ok. I processed the bat and got the output of all the files.
    the resultant files are of sams size. Is there anything wrong.
    I renamed my output folder as out as in your instruction, which i missed in my earliler tries.
    once i changed the output folder, the process was smooth and it prompt at the end of process to quit

    in the out folder all athe files have the same size.and all are saved as the same video content of the 1st episode
    I already told that some episode contain more than 3 hours some 2 hours and some less than 2 hours
    Now all the files are of same soze,
    where i miss something.
    Quote Quote  
  27. There was a mistake in the intermediate files (tmp1.mp4, tmp2.mp4, inter.mp4) getting processed as episodes because they used the mp4 extension.

    your result also suggests tmp1 and tmp2 were not getting correctly overwritten, I'm not sure why.

    I will provide a version of ffm_insert.bat that processes a single file for testing.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,
    butterw,
    Instead of totally converting the whole bunch of files in a folder, i just copied one file for the trial.
    I also changed the time to 01:00:00 in your bat file and ran the script
    Input.mp4 is also shown in the output folder as a video file
    temp1 and temp2 are being created in the output folder with some bytes.
    The process folder also include these files with different bytes .
    the file is ofcourse created in the out Folder.
    please give me clues to how to proceed.
    ffmpeg has been processed , but i do not know, if there is any error or not.
    please let me know , how to check the output for any errors.
    i changed the part1 ending time with the view to have a 2 part only
    Will the second part process the remaining of the first part duration fully
    or should anything be added to the bat file. Expecting your reply.
    i also raised this query at the avidemux forum, but the answers are not understood by me
    Hope that you will reply
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, What i noticed that in the output file is the video stops at the exact 1
    00 hr. Then it stops play video. Here i could hear the audio of the inter.mp4 fully, not video. on Finish of the same, the play auto resumes , ofcourse with sudden beginning.
    please why this is happening and what is needed to correct it.
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    India
    Search Comp PM
    Butterw,
    I find individual processing of the file with your a nd b copy save , finally save me from the trouble.
    Now , what i tried and that and found no problem.
    when opening the video, you know the duration.
    By jagabo, idea, just marking the starting point a and moving thro, with upper arrow to find the exact b position in the specific video and then just copy and paste in the desired position Saving the file by resetting the a and b points will save the full video correctly by adding the title song at the desired place.
    your help is indeed welcome with my knowing the avidemux, a quick saver if just encoding is required.
    thanks a lot but will also ry ffmpeg, if you provide and test it
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads