VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Is there a tool that can batch convert mp3 to mp4 with the video just being black screen but with audio only?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Can be done with ffmpeg. Default audio in mp4 is aac.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by butterw View Post
    Can be done with ffmpeg. Default audio in mp4 is aac.
    Is there a GUI for this? I have no experience in using command line
    Quote Quote  
  4. Can be done with ffmpeg. Default audio in mp4 is aac.
    I was about to reply along those lines, but didn't since I couldn't come up with a specific command actually doing what is requested.
    What I don't know is if ffmpeg alone allows to create a black frame or a blank clip, with no need for an input file.
    Otherwise, it should be quite simple. In this thread for instance the following command was suggested :
    Code:
    ffmpeg -loop 1 -framerate 0.1 -i img.jpg -i audio.mp3 -c:v libx264 -crf 20 -c:a copy -shortest out.mp4
    In ffmpeg's syntax, “-i” means “input”, so here a pre-existing “img.jpg” file would be required (it can be created easily with GIMP or any decent picture editing software, or by taking a screenshot of any video beginning or ending with a black frame — preferably in PNG since it uses lossless compression), along with the “audio.mp3” file. In this example the framerate would have a non standard value, as per the O.P.'s specific request, but it was stated in the same reply that this should be avoided for compatibility reasons.
    This link was provided for further information :
    https://trac.ffmpeg.org/wiki/Slideshow
    Then, with a command that produces the desired result, it is easy to loop it in order to process an entire directory, using the FOR ... DO ... syntax (on Windows). For instance :
    Code:
    FOR %F in (*.mp3) DO ffmpeg -loop 1 -i "black.png" -i "%F" -c:v libx264 -crf 20 -c:a copy -shortest "%~nF.mp4"