VideoHelp Forum


Try DVDFab Video Downloader and rip Netflix video! Or Try DVDFab and copy Blu-rays! or rip iTunes movies!
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Nowhere
    Search PM
    Why are my output files in such low quality when I use HEVC? A 1GB file becomes like 20MB and the quality is terrible. Here's how the configuration looks, haven't touched anything:



    How can I fix this?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by Jiehfeng View Post
    Why are my output files in such low quality when I use HEVC? A 1GB file becomes like 20MB and the quality is terrible. Here's how the configuration looks, haven't touched anything:



    How can I fix this?
    I'm really shocked that when you take a 1Gb file and use 50 times less bit rate the quality is terrible.

    Shocked, I tell you.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Nowhere
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by sophisticles View Post
    Originally Posted by Jiehfeng View Post
    Why are my output files in such low quality when I use HEVC? A 1GB file becomes like 20MB and the quality is terrible. Here's how the configuration looks, haven't touched anything:



    How can I fix this?
    I'm really shocked that when you take a 1Gb file and use 50 times less bit rate the quality is terrible.

    Shocked, I tell you.
    You don't have to be so sarcastic and condescending just because I don't know much about these things. :/

    And I thought whatever is greyed out doesn't count.
    Quote Quote  
  4. I don't know what software you're using but what settings does the High Quality preset use? Are you scaling or otherwise filtering the video? What are the properties of the source? Uncompressed? Losslessly compressed? HEVC? Frame size? Frame rate? Running time? Use MediaInfo in View -> Text mode to get the properties of your source and HEVC video. Post them here.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Try changing the settings, especially the "controlled by preset" drop down box . That might unlock some of the other options instead of "greyed" out
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Nowhere
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    I don't know what software you're using but what settings does the High Quality preset use? Are you scaling or otherwise filtering the video? What are the properties of the source? Uncompressed? Losslessly compressed? HEVC? Frame size? Frame rate? Running time? Use MediaInfo in View -> Text mode to get the properties of your source and HEVC video. Post them here.
    I'm using Avidemux, thought I'd try this relatively new Nvidia encoder as I've got a Nvidia GPU.
    What I did was I loaded the video to Avidemux, changed the Video setting from Copy to Nvidia HEVC, and just exported it from there. When I went back to check the settings, it's what it looks like in the screenshot in the OP. I can't change the bitrate or anything as it is greyed out, the only things I can change in the settings are these:



    Here's the MediaInfo you requested:

    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Nowhere
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    Try changing the settings, especially the "controlled by preset" drop down box . That might unlock some of the other options instead of "greyed" out
    Ah that's it, it does allow me to change it now. Thanks! I should've tried them even if I didn't know what it was.



    So if I want similar quality I just match the bitrate right? Sounds easy enough, thanks again.

    EDIT:
    Nope, still very low file size and quality, the resulting bitrate is lower than what I seemed to have set it as, if I didn't make any mistakes that is.

    copied this (the total bitrate):

    With those settings I got this:


    And for some reason MediaInfo shows a different higher bitrate:

    What am I doing wrong?
    Last edited by Jiehfeng; 24th Nov 2020 at 11:49.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Add some b-frames , 2 or more (maximum consecutive b-frames)
    Increase the GOP size to 300(for 5 sec) or 600 (for 10sec) at 60FPS
    Use Variable Bitrate, and 2 pass mode


    Constant quality mode should be ok too, and you just adjust the quality value (unpredictable bitrates and filesizes, dependent on source characteristics)
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Nowhere
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    Add some b-frames , 2 or more (maximum consecutive b-frames)
    Increase the GOP size to 300(for 5 sec) or 600 (for 10sec) at 60FPS
    Use Variable Bitrate, and 2 pass mode


    Constant quality mode should be ok too, and you just adjust the quality value (unpredictable bitrates and filesizes, dependent on source characteristics)
    Could you maybe explain what those are please, in layman's terms?
    I did as you said but I can't set the GOP size to 300, the max it goes is 250.
    I'm not sure what max bitrate does, how should I calculate that, or the normal bitrate setting?
    I'll try the quality mode if I can't figure out the more manual approaches.

    This is what I did so far, I'll test to see what I get:



    EDIT: With those settings the exporting happens immediately and the file is a broken 258 byte file. What's wrong in the settings?
    Quote Quote  
  10. What card do you have ? Older ones did not support b-frames for HEVC, or maybe you need to update driver

    b-frames improve compression efficiency at typical bitrate ranges (They are bidirectionally predicted frames), with diminishing returns (adding more than 2-3 helps less and less) unless using very low bitrates

    max GOP size also compression efficiency at typical bitrate ranges also with diminishing returns , at the expense of seek latency (slower to navigate) . A typical high compression file might use 5-10 sec keyframe intervals . 10 seconds for 60fps is 600

    Max bitrate is a restriction, that you should not use (it only decreases quality), unless some device or playback scenario requires it (some devices "choke" on bitrate peaks, or buffer underruns) . A general guideline if you can't disable it is to use some large value like 2-5x the average bitrate, or use the value that your playback scenario or device requires (some devices have presets or certain required values)
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Nowhere
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    What card do you have ? Older ones did not support b-frames for HEVC, or maybe you need to update driver

    b-frames improve compression efficiency at typical bitrate ranges (They are bidirectionally predicted frames), with diminishing returns (adding more than 2-3 helps less and less) unless using very low bitrates

    max GOP size also compression efficiency at typical bitrate ranges also with diminishing returns , at the expense of seek latency (slower to navigate) . A typical high compression file might use 5-10 sec keyframe intervals . 10 seconds for 60fps is 600

    Max bitrate is a restriction, that you should not use (it only decreases quality), unless some device or playback scenario requires it. A general guideline if you can't disable it is to use some large value like 2-5x the average bitrate
    Thanks a lot for the explanations!
    So is 250 for the GOP size alright? It's not allowing me to go any higher. I set the max bit rate to 40000kbps and it still exports immediately with a broken file.

    I have the RTX 3080, got new drivers (September 28th) but haven't got to the very latest. Is it because it's a newer card?
    Quote Quote  
  12. 250 should be ok; it won't negatively affect it that much

    RTX 3080 supports HEVC b-frames (pascal did not - RTX 10xx cards)

    Might be driver issue, or something might be broken in avidemux implementation, I don't know. You can check avidemux forum, or try other software
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Nowhere
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    250 should be ok; it won't negatively affect it that much

    RTX 3080 supports HEVC b-frames (pascal did not - RTX 10xx cards)

    Might be driver issue, or something might be broken in avidemux implementation, I don't know. You can check avidemux forum, or try other software
    Thank you, I will post on their forums.
    Quote Quote  
  14. So you requested 26944 Kbps but the encoder delivered only 252 Kbps? Something is going wrong with the encoding. Try a different program. I believe Handbrake supports NVEnc.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Central Germany
    Search PM
    Selur's Hybrid may help as well.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Nowhere
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    So you requested 26944 Kbps but the encoder delivered only 252 Kbps? Something is going wrong with the encoding. Try a different program. I believe Handbrake supports NVEnc.
    Originally Posted by LigH.de View Post
    Selur's Hybrid may help as well.
    Thank you, I will try those. A mod in the avidemux forum is also seeing to my log to find out what's going on.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Originally Posted by Jiehfeng View Post
    You don't have to be so sarcastic and condescending just because I don't know much about these things. :/
    I don't have to be, but I do enjoy it so much.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads