VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and copy Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs! Or rip iTunes movies and music! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    UK
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I've made an account on this forum to ask one specific thing, though it's quite a long-winded thing

    I haven't made any Youtube videos since Windows Movie Maker stopped being a feature of Windows, so we're talking nearly a decade ago.

    I made some pretty cool videos with WMM and was a fairly repsectable 'tuber in my day, and generally enjoyed pushing the boundaries of what WMM was capable of. However, even if I found an old 2012 version to download I don't think that package could make the video I want to make today.

    I haven't had a burning desire to make a video for years & my fear of the new/sense of intimidation at the wealth of video making software out there has always stopped me in my tracks quite soon after any initial envisioning of any project I'd like to create.

    However, my current video is already completed in my mind and just needs putting together on a software editor, and I'm now, once again, faced with trying to figure out if I need to buy a good video making package (but I might not get an urge to make another video after this one for a long time) or whether I can do what I want to do with a free or very cheap package that can just carry me over this one project.

    And I try googling and, of course, none of the hype for each package has anything to do with the features I require. Or, at least, I can't convert video-making terminology language into the things I have imagined for my video, what the technical terms are for the techniques I want to use.

    So here goes in trying to describe what I need the package to do:

    On my completed video I want the screen to be split into three sections, for the entire duration of the video, which will be anything up to 10 hours long. Certainly not less than two hours.

    I want one quarter of the screen, horizontally at the bottom of the screen, to be a black space that contains nothing but continuously changing subtitles.

    The remaining three quarters of the screen I want to be split exactly in two, vertically.

    In the left-hand half of this split I want to have pictures continually fading in and out.

    In the right hand half of this split I want to have continuously playing video.

    I also want to put continuously changing text over both the pictures and video.

    On top of this, I want to place a soundtrack on the whole video, but be able to fade the music out smoothly, when required, in order to then have the soundtrack of the split-screen video play for a bit before fading the regular soundtrack back in. I want the split-screen video to be either quiet or silent while the soundtrack plays. Preferably a software package that lets me adjust the volumes of the two sound streams manually and smoothly.

    Similar to [just the contents of the square, the rest of the image is garbage resulting from not knowing the geometric terminology for the required image]:



    But the lower box thinner by half.

    Now, as I say, I could do a lot with WMM, but I never got this advanced if WMM could even do something like this.

    I also like the sound of the hype of some packages which say they can manipulate videos to fit whatever size you want. Improve the grading. Etc.

    But I'm happy to work with something that will just let me complete the project in the most basic way if it's possible via a cheap or free package. I'm personally not fussed if the video section is slightly rough round the edges.

    So... anyone out there able to empathise with what I'm on about? Know where I'm coming from? Can visualise what I'm on about? AND be able to recommend me something?

    Any help greatly appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Vegas can do this using track motion. I just spent one minute on this and have attached a photo which shows the result. It is probably not exactly what you wanted, and I didn't spend any time to get the three boxes the right size, but I think you get the idea. It has text at the bottom, a video in the upper right, and a photo in the upper left.

    I used Vegas Pro to do this. It is expensive. However, I'm pretty sure that Vegas Moviemaker can do the same thing. If you shop around and get an older version (on eBay, as an example) you can get it for very little money. Even if you buy the latest version direct from Magix, I think you can get it for under $50.
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Three window example.png
Views:	17
Size:	693.5 KB
ID:	55105  

    Last edited by johnmeyer; 29th Sep 2020 at 17:38. Reason: typos
    Quote Quote  
  3. for free, davinci resolve, if you have at least an i7 computer and only want basic editing.

    8gb ram will do 1080p, anything higher than that, 16gb min.

    You won't be able to do motion graphics in DV Resolve with 8gb ram but edits/exports will be fine.

    So many tutorials on you tube to explain what you specifically need to achieve in the edit with DV Resolve.

    I couldn't live without DV resolve.

    Audio in DVR is a lot of fun.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    This is a pretty straight-forward Picture in Picture scenario. Magix Movie Edit Pro could do this easily. A hard core of helpful users over at the forum, too!
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    UK
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the excellent quick replies.

    Especially thanks to johnmeyer for showing it in pictures and going to the effort to show it in action.

    The free'ness of Davinci is certainly appealing, but I do remember WMM crashing like a MoFo all the time back in the day & the word 'crash' is therefor a word I take particular notice in when reading about the product. I can bare it, I just would rather not.

    Both Vegas Movie Studio and Magix Movie Edit Pro are therefor the two that are left in my decision pool. Hmm, should I flip a coin?

    Flipped: Magix wins out, so I'll try that one first.

    Much obliged & I'll report back if I get on with or if I don't some time in the future.

    Thanks again you marvellous people!
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Re MEP: Magix has just released a new version which has pretty hefty hardware requirements: check the required specs carefully eg Intel iGPU required for quick rendering, separate modern graphics card for smooth previewing during editing.

    Here's my go; took me 30 minutes.
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	LDS Timeline.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	170.2 KB
ID:	55114  

    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  7. Nice job, Alwyn!
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks John.

    You don't realise what's involved in this stuff until you try it; LDS is going to be there for HOURS inserting the images! 6 seconds each for 2 hours?! Gasp!
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by Alwyn View Post
    Thanks John.

    You don't realise what's involved in this stuff until you try it; LDS is going to be there for HOURS inserting the images! 6 seconds each for 2 hours?! Gasp!
    I'm not sure what you mean. One great thing about Vegas is how quickly you can insert and manipulate photos. You simply select all the photos in a folder and drag them to the timeline. If you've set an overlap in Preferences, all the photos will overlap using the default transition. You can then set pan/crop to "match output aspect" and all the photos will be cropped so they fill the screen (if that's what you want). The Vegas "track motion" only needs to be set once for all those photos in order to put them in the upper left corner (same for the titles at the bottom and the video in the upper right corner).
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    All my aeroplane pics were oddball shapes so I had to crop each one individually. With "standard" pics I applied the Size and Position details to them all at once. I'll have to see if I can automatically crop the oddball ones, as you can do in Vegas.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads