VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and copy Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs! Or rip iTunes movies and music! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Lithopolis, OH United States
    Search Comp PM
    I am trying to install FFMPEG but I am confused on what do and how to do it. I am more familiar with installers but I have no idea on how to install FFMPEG. Does anyone know how to install FFMPEG?
    Quote Quote  
  2. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    ffmpeg does not need to be installed.
    All you have to do is unzip the downloaded archive and extract the ffmpeg.EXE file to a directory listed in the environment-variable named PATH, so that you can call ffmpeg from any folder on which you open a command-prompt window.
    But there are graphic frontends for the people who are afraid of the command-line interface and think it's a synonym for Microsoft DOS
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	ffmpeg-commandprompt.png
Views:	48
Size:	41.5 KB
ID:	55031  

    Last edited by El Heggunte; 27th Sep 2020 at 07:48. Reason: clarity
    "Like this facility, I don't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Old Dominion
    Search Comp PM
    While ffmpeg requires no installation, if you want it available system-wide you need to set the path in the Windows environment settings. This link gives instructions with pictures.
    https://windowsloop.com/install-ffmpeg-windows-10/
    Last edited by mail2tom; 27th Sep 2020 at 14:56.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    An alternative to adding ffmpeg folder to the path is to create a shortcut to the folder on the desktop,
    Hold down the shift key, right click the shortcut and select "open command prompt here"
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Lithopolis, OH United States
    Search Comp PM
    I "installed" FFMPEG on both computers although IO had to do some research in the case of XP. Thanks for the help
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member azmoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Smurf free suburb of Timbuktu!
    Search Comp PM
    https://opensourcepack.blogspot.com/2017/12/ffmpeg-for-windows-xp.html

    Download nice stable version of ffmeg for XP et al. All you need then is your preferred ffmeg GUI in same folder.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Lithopolis, OH United States
    Search Comp PM
    What FFMPEG GUI do you recommend?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member azmoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Smurf free suburb of Timbuktu!
    Search Comp PM
    I'm not keen on WinFF so I use one from below link. Place that gui in a folder of the extracted XP et al 3.4.1 version I linked previously. Download full version of that
    and place the gui alongside ffmeg, ffprobe, ffplay in your named folder e.g FFMEG 3.4.1 named.

    http://ffqueue.bruchhaus.dk/Download.aspx

    Also there's another nice gui with complete ffmeg build, which allows you to run other builds like the build link I gave which allows h265 as input. Also Eusing has presets and commandline tips.

    https://www.eusing.com/free_video_converter/video_converter.htm
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Lithopolis, OH United States
    Search Comp PM
    I am going to try them both to see which ones work for me.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads