VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and copy Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs! Or rip iTunes movies and music! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread
  1. Hello,
    I want to transfer mini dv tapes to my desktop.
    As I understand I need a PCIe 3 4 card.
    Not sure what type of PCIe card will suit and which brand to buy.
    See attached a picture of the slot.
    Thanks a lot in advance for help.
    Schraga
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20200917_215421.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	2.99 MB
ID:	54941  

    Click image for larger version

Name:	20200917_215409.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	4.95 MB
ID:	54942  

    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Assuming the motherboard doesn't disable the slot due to other slots being populated, you can use a PCI-e x1 card in a PCIe x2 slot, PCIe x4 slot, PCIe x8 slot or even a PCIe x16 slot without problems. Just make sure the rear bracket is secured to your case with a screw to keep the card firmly in place.

    A firewire card with a Texas Instrument chipset has the best reputation for compatibility with older firewire devices. If you can find a source for one, the Syba SY-PEX30016 Firewire card has a TI chipset as well as both firewire 400 and firewire 800 ports. See https://www.amazon.com/Syba-SY-PEX30016-Firewire-XIO2213B-Requires/dp/B006DQ0KD2
    Ignore list: hello_hello, tried, TechLord, Snoopy329
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Schraga Mor View Post
    Hello,
    I want to transfer mini dv tapes to my desktop.
    As I understand I need a PCIe 3 4 card.
    Not sure what type of PCIe card will suit and which brand to buy.
    See attached a picture of the slot.
    Thanks a lot in advance for help.
    Schraga

    also, you might want to clean the dust from your graphics card fans.
    it looks like they need it
    Quote Quote  
  4. Thanks a lot @usually_quiet.
    How can I check if my motherboard is able to operate more than one populated slot at the same time?
    Appreciate your help !
    Schraga Mor
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    easiest way is plug things in
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Schraga Mor View Post
    Thanks a lot @usually_quiet.
    How can I check if my motherboard is able to operate more than one populated slot at the same time?
    Appreciate your help !
    Schraga Mor
    If only one slot is currently populated, adding a PCIe x1 card is almost certain to be successful. If the motherboard had a few more slots in use, I would suggest checking the motherboard manual to find out if you can add another card. The total number of PCI-e lanes available is determined by the motherboard chipset.
    Last edited by usually_quiet; 19th Sep 2020 at 11:51.
    Ignore list: hello_hello, tried, TechLord, Snoopy329
    Quote Quote  
  7. Hello,
    I have bought and Installed the Syba-SY-PEX30016-Firewire card. My capturing software is not finding the card. I would appreciate any ideas how to solve it.
    Thanks,
    Schraga
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Schraga Mor View Post
    Hello,
    I have bought and Installed the Syba-SY-PEX30016-Firewire card. My capturing software is not finding the card. I would appreciate any ideas how to solve it.
    Thanks,
    Schraga
    Did you check Device Manager to see if the card was detected and has drivers installed? Windows 7 is supposed to install firewire drivers automatically. If you are running Windows 8.1 or Windows 10 you will probably need to install the Legacy Firewire Driver manually. For Windows 8.1 see https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/2970191/firewire-port-based-device-does-not-w...ndows-8-1-or-w For Windows 10 see https://www.startech.com/en-us/faq/firewire-cards-windows-legacy-driver-swap
    Ignore list: hello_hello, tried, TechLord, Snoopy329
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads