VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and copy Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs! Or rip iTunes movies and music! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm new to video and to VirtualDub.

I have a from-VHS video whose current histogram is greatly squished on both ends. (I am a long-time Photoshop user from which I am very familiar with the tool.)

I observe that VirtualDub has a "Levels" filter (which naturally includes a histogram of the data).

Question: For the VirtualDub Levels/Histogram filter I am describing, is its functionality applied DURING capture or AFTER the video is captured?
    Or, by the very nature of being a "FILTER", does that mean that it is to be applied AFTER capture?

Thank you for your help.
    Last edited by Avagadro1; 15th Aug 2020 at 15:45.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Most VirtualDub filters can be used while capturing (if your computer is fast enough). But VirtualDub's levels filter cannot be used to recover super-blacks and super-brights in YUV video. They are crushed before the filter adjusts levels. Use the Brightness/Contrast filter instead. Even better, use the capture device's video processing amp.
    Last edited by jagabo; 15th Aug 2020 at 20:57.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thank you, jagabo.

I've been experimenting on this matter for a couple of hours. As a long-time Photoshopper, I have been testing multiple iterations of the Levels filter while watching the Histogram overlay. After some tinkering, I was able to make the Histogram appear ideal: just about touching, but not smashed against, both the shadow and highlights ends of the graph. Then a bit of adjustment of the mids ---- and the ONSCREEN result is MUCH better than the video as captured from the VHS tape.

What I imply from your message (see above), however, is that I need not be so exacting with respect to the shadow and highlight end points because, unlike in Photoshop, below Y16 and above Y235, there isn't anything anyway.