VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hey everyone,
    So I'm using Pinnacle for Dazzle to transfer all my old vhs tapes to dvd. The problem I'm having is I believe that they're all just to big to fit on dvd. After I convert them to dvd they end up being about 7 to 9 gbs. I'm fairly new to the digital world so I don't know what to do here. Whenever I attempt to transfer to DVD, thinking Pinnacle would just shrink it down and transfer it to dvd it doesn't seem to work. After the project ends, I get about half way through the dvd and it freezes. I've already wasted a few blank dvd's so I don't want to keep going until I have a better idea of what I'm doing.

Are there any other programs maybe I should be using to shrink the size or should I maybe be editing the videos once I get them to my computer and use 2 dvd's per VHS?

I appreciate your help.

Have a great Day!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    How many hours of video are you trying to get on one DVD - Limit the time to 2 hours per disk.
    Best to capture your video then use something like AVStoDVD to create the DVD.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    How many hours of video are you trying to get on one DVD - Limit the time to 2 hours per disk.
    The last video was only about an hour and a half and it was 7 1/2 GBS
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by beauknowsdiddly View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    The last video was only about an hour and a half and it was 7 1/2 GBS
    The size without any context (details) doesn't mean much.
    But generally, size = bitrate x running time.

You set your bitrate too high
    Quote Quote  
  5. Yeah sorry about the lack of info. I have no clue about the bitrate pinnacle uses I just used all the defaults the program came with. There's no real instructions with this program unfortunately. It's pretty complicated for a newb like myself
    Quote Quote