VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 29 of 29
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    Hi.


    Can you tell me some really light program that can convert dts or dts-hd to simple ac3 5.1 sound without loosing quality and fast?
    And still supported.


    Does these program do that:
    Mkvtoolnix
    Makemkv
    tsmuxer


    A lot of thanks for your time and your answers.
    Quote Quote  
  2. marcelo_bor marcelo_bor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    earth
    Search PM
    so I used the 'eac3to' tool a few times.
    for what I wanted it served me well, I just don't know if it's the best tool available.
    Last edited by marcelo_bor; 19th Jul 2020 at 18:48. Reason: link is not necessary
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    No i don't like this program.
    To many parameters and real to many time simply to convert only the sound of a mkv file not the video.


    Is there any other program with no so many paramters?
    Simply you choose the mkv file with dts or dts-hd sound and convert it into mkv file with a simple ac3 5.1 surround.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    No i don't like this program.
    To many parameters and real to many time simply to convert only the sound of a mkv file not the video.


    Is there any other program with no so many paramters?
    Simply you choose the mkv file with dts or dts-hd sound and convert it into mkv file with a simple ac3 5.1 surround.

    Avidemux. Use the portable 64 bit version.
    https://www.videohelp.com/download/avidemux_r200705_win64Qt5_25.zip

    Leave the video as "copy", set audio to ac3 (Aften) or ac3 (Lav).
    Use the configure and filters buttons for other adjustments
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member netmask56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Popcorn Audio Converter changes DTS etc to AC3 in situ, leaves video alone and is quick.
    BeyonWiz T3 PVR ~ Popcorn A-500 ~ Samsung ES8000 65" LED TV ~ Windows 7 64bit ~ Yamaha RX-A1070 ~ QnapTS851-4G
    Quote Quote  
  6. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    I use audacity with ffmpeg plugin to convert to dd 5.1 and then mux with mkvmerge,that way you can merge other stuff at the same such as subtitles.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    There isn't any all in one program that with easy and quick way just convert dts or dts-hd into ac3 without do anything at all at video?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    There isn't any all in one program that with easy and quick way just convert dts or dts-hd into ac3 without do anything at all at video?
    reread the previous responses the info you want is there, with at least two suggestions that mention the video is left untouched or copy only
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member netmask56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    There isn't any all in one program that with easy and quick way just convert dts or dts-hd into ac3 without do anything at all at video?
    Not so

    I use Popcorn Audio converter almost weekly removing unnecessary audio tracks, subtitles converting DTS to AC3 etc etc. from MKV files. If I have a MP4 file that needs change I wrap in in a MKV container first using MKVToolNix then attack it as outlines!!! Doesn't touch the video at all.
    BeyonWiz T3 PVR ~ Popcorn A-500 ~ Samsung ES8000 65" LED TV ~ Windows 7 64bit ~ Yamaha RX-A1070 ~ QnapTS851-4G
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    Anyone has to suggest any program like tencoder?
    So light, so simple and do the work.


    Cause tencoder stop supporting anymore.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    Anyone has to suggest any program like tencoder?
    So light, so simple and do the work.


    Cause tencoder stop supporting anymore.
    Have you looked at Xmedia Recode ?
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    I check it now.
    Does it has any limitation the free version?
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    tencoder is really too much faster than xmedia recode.
    Really faster.


    Maybe cause tencoder transform only audio and copy video same time and xmedia 1st recode audio and then it add video so this is more than double of the time tencoder do.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    If your requirement is only to convert the audio and copy the video, continue to use Tencoder.
    Avidemux can do it, but I believe you lose any subtitles with that one
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    I don't care about subtitles.
    I can use external subtitles this is not problem at all.
    Is the avidemux as fast as it is tencoder?


    Avidemux it isn't convert audio or video files.



    Really i don't find anything like tencoder. Really fast and do the work.
    Last edited by fits79; 28th Jul 2020 at 15:59.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Easy enough to try, you'll find the portable 64 bit version on this site, software section
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    You don't understand i have already try the avidemux.


    At my previews post i tell you my opinion about that.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member Ennio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    ... to simple ac3 5.1 sound without loosing quality...
    FYI when you recode to AC-3 you will always have (small, maybe inaudible ) quality loss. AC-3 is a lossy encoder.

    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    You don't understand i have already try the avidemux.
    At my previews post i tell you my opinion about that.
    Would that opninion be this?
    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    Avidemux it isn't convert audio or video files.
    I don't understand what you mean by that.

    davexnet explained on how to use Avidemux to accomplish what you want.
    Can you be more specific about what problems you run into using Avidemux?
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    Now the tsmuxer SUPPORT the convert from true-hd to ac3.
    But unfortunately at some true-hd doesn't convert it successfully.


    I mean exactly that i am saying for avidemux IT ISN'T convert anything it simply demuxing as it say and his name.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member Ennio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    Now the tsmuxer SUPPORT the convert from true-hd to ac3.
    I doubt that tsMuxer is doing converting/recoding of audio.
    I think tsMuxer is able to separate the embedded AC-3 track from the TrueHD track. According to bluray specs it's mandatory that TrueHD tracks have an embedded, independent AC-3 track for legacy purposes.

    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    ...avidemux IT ISN'T convert anything...
    I think it would if you'd follow what davexnet said:
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Leave the video as "copy", set audio to ac3 (Aften) or ac3 (Lav).
    Use the configure and filters buttons for other adjustments
    If you do this Avidemux will recode audio to legacy AC-3
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    The new and updated version of tsmuxer IT CAN.
    Just read the changelog.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member Ennio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    Just read the changelog.
    Just did. But I can't find anything about (re-)coding audio.
    Can you point me out please?
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    I NEVER SAY recoding.
    I just say converting - downsampling NEVER RECODING.
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member Ennio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    AFAIK downsampling takes place in the uncompressed audio realm. Calculating less (or more, with up-sampling, for that matter) new samples is by definition not lossless. Even if you wouldn't change bitdepth.
    Those new samples will have to be compressed again (recoded) into your wanted AC-3, which is also not lossless.

    I still doubt that tsMuxer does that. I didn't read anything about converting or downsampling in the changelog. Please point me out if it's there.
    BTW next to extracting the embedded AC-3 track in TrueHD audio, tsMuxer can also get the dts core out of DTS-HD audio.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    What is afaik?


    And why you don't try to downconvert one truehd into ac3 with latest tsmuxer to check it?


    How tsmuxer can convert dts to dts-hd?
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member Ennio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    What is afaik?
    Sorry, it means "as far as I know".

    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    And why you don't try to downconvert one truehd into ac3 with latest tsmuxer to check it?
    It isn't downconverting. It just demuxes the embedded AC-3 audio that is already there in a TrueHD track. You said:
    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    ...unfortunately at some true-hd doesn't convert it successfully.
    That "some" TrueHD tracks won't work with tsMuxer, is because there is no embedded track to demux. Again, it has nothing to do with "converting". I'll explain.

    If you import bluray into tsMuxer, a TrueHD track always will have an embedded AC-3 audiotrack. It's mandatory for BD specs.
    In such a case, the trackinfo screen will say "AC3 core + TRUE-HD". This "core" is misleading; it's not a core (see further at the dts part of this post). It's the embedded (and independent) AC3 track. So it's like 2 tracks in one. It is this embedded track that tsMuxer can demux/use for you by ticking the "Downconvert TRUE-HD to AC3"-box.

    Now, try to import a mkv which has TrueHD into tsMuxer. It will throw a window at you saying that "track ** wasn't recognized". This is because within a mkv container it's not possible to have an embedded AC-3 track within TrueHD audio as one track and tsMuxer sort of "expects" TrueHD with embedded AC-3. It kinda refuses "TrueHD only", so to say.
    Mind that you can of course simply mux an extra AC3 track into mkv as an additional audiotrack.

    Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
    How tsmuxer can convert dts to dts-hd?
    Again, it's not really converting anything.

    DTS-HD audio is different in build-up than TrueHD. First, it has a "dts core". This is a dts track like you find on dvd's. Most of the times it's in 5.1. But there are several channel numbers/configurations, all up to 6.1. Next to this core, there is extra data. The core, together with the extra data makes up for the total DTS-HD audio.
    In tsMuxer, when you tick the "Downconvert DTS-HD to DTS"-box, it will only demux and use the dts core. So, again nothing is really "converted"; the core is already there.
    To be complete, mkv's can carry the DTS-HD audio (with it's core) in one audiotrack.
    Quote Quote  
  27. @fits79
    The title of the post started with DTS to AC3 .. uhmm ..

    you have not thought to use UsEac3to ... the last update is much better ...
    責任者
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Search PM
    Please READ THE FULL TITLE of the topic not only part of.


    And 2 files i try it doesn't convert e-ac3 to ac3.
    Last edited by fits79; 7th Aug 2020 at 09:19.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads