VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello VHF ~

I'm a newbie to most things "app," but I do have a background as an EE, so I know enough to be dangerous.

As I have slowly added to a collection of CDs, DVDs and Blu Rays for quite a few years now, I've ended up with quite a physical "pile" of cases/medium that's become quite a space hog. In short, I'd like to find a reasonable way to either copy my collection to our Mac computer or to blank writeable medium (or both).

As I had to remove the so-called "super drive" from our MacBook Pro -- due to discs hanging up in the drive -- I assume that we're looking at some sort of an external drive that can perform a lot of read/write/record functions. The MacBook Pro 17 we have does not have USB-C capability, so I'm also assuming that this is a seriously limiting factor.

If anyone has any thoughts on how to best go about getting a start with this, I'd appreciate a primer or a pointer. Please note that the details about the computer we have were added when I first signed up to the VH forum.

Thank you for your time ~ Red
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    hopefully your mac has usb 3. if so i'd buy an usb 3 external hard drive and a usb 3 blu-ray player. then use makemkv to put everything on the new h.d.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks very much for the reply, aedipuss. Unfortunately, our MacBook Pro 17 does not have the latest type of USB.

Does the lack of this type of USB buss mean that we can't [practically] achieve our goal? If not, do you think that a new Mac is in order?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM