VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm pretty new to this; I have bought two home bluray players on the cheap end already and neither will read my files properly.
    I thought I would save myself some time and money and ask this here:

Could anyone recommend a (multimedia) Bluray player that can meet this criteria:

- Reads BD-R DL discs (50g) burned as "media" discs
    - Can open photos and music from media discs
    - Able to read 10bit x264 mkv files from BD-R discs as media disc
    - Able to read 10bit hevc x265 mkv files from BD-R discs as media disc
    - Can read 1080p to 4k resolution files.
    - Supports FLAC, AAC, etc
    - USB optional but welcome
    - HDD bay not necessary
    - As cheap as possible (<$200 optimal, <=$350 acceptable )

The players I bought read x264 files without issue but none of the 10 bit/hevc MKV files I have will open in either model.
    I'm not really interested in the USB or HDD features as I already have other media players that handle those.

Any help is appreciated!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Why 10bit? You'll have problems with most players and TV Sets.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I am aware that most bluray players won't open those files. Is there a model that does at all?
    We use a flash storage / USB type media center most of the time and I have no issues with those formats.
    However, I have started burning to Bluray because I want to free my hard drive space and being able to read the files directly would save me some time copying from disc to USB every time.

We live in Asia and both players we've had were older models (2016 with 2018 firmwares). I would have thought most recent players would be able to read those formats by now?

I have a lot of 10bit /hevc flies so re-encoding is not really an optimal solution.

Thanks for taking the time to read!
    Quote Quote