VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello,

I'm pretty new to this, discovering the joys of trying to burn something onto DVD that will play on standalone DVD players.

The original was copied from VHS on a Toshiba D-VR18DT-K-TB which produced a VIDEO_TS folder on a DVD, I finalised this on the Toshiba, all seemed to work ok - I've copied that onto my PC and now want to burn this to two or three more DVDs for a couple of people. I've tried using File Manager - right-click on the VIDEO_TS folder, 'Send To' my PC's Bluray/DVD drive, and then going to my DVD drive and choosing 'Finish Burning' from Drive Tools. The DVD it produces actually works on my own standalone Bluray player, but for two other people I have done this for their drives just won't play the DVD - one has an old LG DVD player and this just spits the disk out (I'm wondering it it doesn't like DVD-R) the other just sits there trying but never gets anywhere. It's frustrating!

If it makes any difference there is a basic 'menu' on the DVD which was produced during the process of copying from the VHS. The menu appears and works ok on my own bluray standalone player.

The original VHS is just a video of a school dance performance, but done by a 'proper' company (just a small local outfit I think)

Any ideas? Is the method I'm using above the right way to do this?

Thanks
    Guy
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    try slowing down the burn speed to 4x and see if that helps.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Assuming you still have the one good DVD, use Imgburn to create an image of it, then use the same
    program to burn the image to you new DVD(s)

If you want to use the Hard drive Video_ts copy, open Imgburn,
    mode/EZ mode picker
    write file/folders to disc
    Drag your video_ts folder onto the window
    Allow the program to set UDF file system if necessary.
    Burn at half the rated disk speed
    Quote Quote