VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi there.

I've been using Windows 7 for 10 years and recently I got a new laptop which runs on Windows 10, of course.
    On Windows 7, I had many things installed so that the softsubs would appear when I play my videos (avi, mp4, mkv, FLV, etc) on Windowd Media Player.
    I had ffdshow, Directvobsub, avisynth installed on my old laptop and had no problem running the videos wtih softubs.
    However, on my new laptop, the subs don't appear even though I have installed ffdshow, directvobsub and avisyth.
    On my old laptop (Win7), whenever I play videos with softsubs on Windows Media Player, a green arrow (Vobsub icon, i think?) or the ffdshow icon would appear on the right side of the taskbar but on my new laptop (Win10), none of those appear.
    Does that means those applications are not functioning?
    Please guide me on how I can make all types of softsubs (srt, ssa) appear when I play videos on Windows Media Player.
    I can't live without my computer.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Almost no one here uses wmp to play videos,most others use media player classic home cinema,vlc,potplayer and a few others,try one of the players i mentioned,they are better than wmp for playing videos with subtitles.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by johns0 View Post
    Almost no one here uses wmp to play videos,most others use media player classic home cinema,vlc,potplayer and a few others,try one of the players i mentioned,they are better than wmp for playing videos with subtitles.
    But there are things I prefer more on WMP.
    The subs show just fine on MPHC.
    I want to know what I should do to get those softsubs to show because on my old laptop, the subs were showing without any problems after installing the apps I mentioned above
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member