VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello!

I am trying to generate a raw video stream with luma only (monochrome, YUV400) 8bit pixel data using the following command:

Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.mp4 -vcodec rawvideo -pix_fmt raw.yuv
    I also tried to use the following filter to extract only the luma channel. The end result was the same.

Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.mp4 -vcodec rawvideo -pix_fmt gray -filter_complex 'extractplanes=y[y]' -map '[y]' raw.yuv
    After that I tried to h.264 encode the raw stream with the profiles that support monochrome pixel data (eg: high)

Code:
    ffmpeg -f rawvideo -vcodec rawvideo -pix_fmt gray -s 640x512 -r 60 -i raw.yuv -codec:v libx264 -profile:v high -c:a copy out.mp4
    However, I always get the following error, which indicates that the raw stream is not in the monochrome format that I would have expected:

Code:
    x264 [error]: high profile doesn't support 4:4:4
    I am new to ffmpeg and video formats in general. Can somebody please point out what I am missing?

Thank you!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    On one hand, you may omit -profile:v high if you don't need it with a good reason, giving x264 a chance to automatically select the required option.

On the other, you may be able to tweak the expectations of the x264 encoder with parameters like input-csp / output-csp if it was a separate encoder, but I am not sure how to handle that with x264 as an encoder library inside ffmpeg, sorry... maybe any other user here is more knowledgeable in this topic.

As you apparently have a raw YUV source, I would recommend using x264 separately here, without ffmpeg wrapped around.

One more suggestion: Instead of creating a headerless YUV file, try Y4M (YUV4MPEG), its header contains the video frame dimensions and the pixel format identifier, so you can care less about a few parameters.
    Last edited by LigH.de; 4th Jun 2020 at 07:08.
    Quote Quote