VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3
FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 31 to 60 of 65
Thread
  1. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I am a little confused now.


    Are you saying that this 'Windows machine' is not the same machine that captured your original RAW file ?


    Now my Windows PC has a mere fraction of the ram in the system you described, a slower processor etc. In fact a 'puppy' compared with your 'fully-grown hound-dog'. Yet it still played that RAW file faultlessly. Ok. I did not use my installed version of quicktime player. In fact that software refused to play it citing it required 'additional components'. But my media player of choice >> vlc << played it perfectly well.


    I can not confirm that you can use your capture device with other software eg vdub since I have no practical knowledge of your hardware. I guess there are many in the same position as no one would typically invest in such a product just for VHS. So I suspect you had this for more pro work. So you will need to try that yourself. Vdub has various options you need to set but you will quickly see if it recognises your capture device.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by dellsam34 View Post
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    You can just force your player to deinterlace on the fly. Here's the video deinterlaced with QTGMC, the black level lowered a bit, and encoded as h.264.
    What filter you used to de-interlace, I've tried both TFF and BFF and produced flickering frames.
    I did:

    Code:
    LSmashVideoSource("3.mov", format="YUY2") 
    AssumeTFF()
    ColorYUV(off_y=-6)
    QTGMC()
    ConvertToYV12()
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by Johnnysh View Post
    just need to read up on how to use QTGMC, but very very impressed with your first result
    There are many threads here on how to set up AvISynth+ and GQTMC. Some with archives of all the necessary filters.

    Originally Posted by Johnnysh View Post
    so I guess what we are saying, is that the 10bit .mov 422 lossless file has the maximum info and data from the archive VHS.
    Yes, though I suspect a noise reduction filter in your VCR or capture software is eliminating some of the detail that's on the tape.

    Originally Posted by Johnnysh View Post
    But the PC / Windows / Flat Screen Monitor / Windows Drivers / Codecs etc etc

    can not decode this RAW .mov file correctly and display the info nicely
    The mov file is flagged as interlaced and top-field-first. I don't know why some players aren't deinterlacing it automatically. But most players will let you force deinterlacing. And they use something like Yadif/bob in handbrake.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    Hi Guys


    Thank you for the info it is very much appreciated, learning all the time

    and I am only ever referring to one Windows PC this is my Video processing PC which is the beast I have been talking about, HP Z640 WorkStation 3.4ghz xeon, 64gig Ram 12gig Titan X video etc.

    You can never have too much power when it comes to video processing, even if you don't need it right now, it should be able to handle 4k without to many issues

    But the project at the moment is VHS capture, so I guess slightly over powered.


    but will continue playing and see if I can follow some of your valued suggestions,


    Thank you
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    Last edited by Johnnysh; 28th May 2020 at 18:32.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Johnnysh View Post
    I may be wrong but QTGMC seems very complicated, with scripts and a large learning curve
    You're wrong.
    Use selur's Hybrid.
    It has a slight learning curve, as an encoder with filtering abilities. But it's far easier to understand that Avisynth scripting, for such basic Avisynth/Vapoursynth needs.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member dellsam34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Paris Ca, 92345 Mexico
    Search PM
    Here is your sample cropped properly, de-interlaced and encoded with the right aspect ratio:
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member DB83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    I have never seen the terms 'Clean Apperture Width/Height' before. I assume they refer to the active image and not the black-bars. Must be an Apple one.


    But surely there is little point in cropping since the active part should still display at 768*576.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    Hi Guys

    Thank you for the update and sample

    1) would you be kind enough to explain, what you did

    2) what software you used to generate the new cropped sample

    3) what settings you used

    then I can experiment with many other captured / archived clips


    I play around in Hybrid, though 100s of settings everywhere ?? but did manage to deinterlace and make image 50 frames per sec

    was impressed with result but it took about 3 hours to do 30mins of video ??


    going to try to install AVISYNTH and QTGMC

    as feel this is the way to go


    Regards
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member dellsam34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Paris Ca, 92345 Mexico
    Search PM
    The active analog video resolution by D1 standard was set to 704x480 for NTSC and 704x576 for PAL/SECAM a 16 pixel margin (8 on each side) was added to prevent non centered content from being cut-off. The purpose for cropping is first to reduce the amount of grey area on both sides and second is to get an accurate 4:3 aspect ratio.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member dellsam34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Paris Ca, 92345 Mexico
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Johnnysh View Post
    Hi Guys

    Thank you for the update and sample

    1) would you be kind enough to explain, what you did

    2) what software you used to generate the new cropped sample

    3) what settings you used
    After you capture drop the lossless file into Vdub, crop off the useless 16 pixels on the sides of the frame, It depends on the video sometimes you need to crop more on one side than the other to get the active video area centered and save as 8 bit YUV2 (usually HuffYUV) this is important for the following pieces of software to work, I couldn't get them to work on 10 bit.

    Then De-interlace using QTGMC, Some videos are bottom field first some are top field first, You only need to specify if it is TFF:
    Code:
    AviSource("C:\File path\file name.avi")
    AssumeTFF()
    QTGMC()
    Then using FFMPEG to encode to H.264 with pixel ratio of 12/11 for PAL and set audio to 192Kbps which the maximum most compatible:
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.avi -vf "format=yuv420p,setsar=sar=12/11" -c:v libx264 -crf 10 -x264opts colorprim=smpte170m:transfer=bt470bg:colormatrix=bt470bg:force-cfr -c:a aac -b:a 192k Output.mp4
    Alternatively if you want to keep the encoded file in its original color space 4:2:2 just change yuv420p to yuv422p.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    Hi dellsam34

    wow, thank you for the update and process and detailed explanation

    will have a play


    Regards
    Quote Quote  
  13. If you're going to use AviSynth for the deinterlacing you might as well do the cropping with AviSynth too:

    Code:
    LSmashVideoSource("3.mov")
    AssumeTFF()
    Crop(10,0,-6,-0) # crop 10 pixels off the left, 6 off the right
    QTGMC()
    Since your source was a mov file I used LSmashVideoSource() to open it (AviSource() is only for AVI files). You'll need to install the LSMASHSource filter for AviSynth:

    http://avisynth.nl/index.php/LSMASHSource

    I would suggest you install 64 bit versions of everything: VirtualDub2, AviSynth+, and QTGMC (and all the filters it requires) and LSMASH. You cannot mix 32 bit and 64 bit components.

    I don't remember exactly how I encoded the video. I probably used ffmpeg, similar to dellsam34. Or the x264 CLI encoder from a batch file:

    Code:
    start /b /low "x264" "g:\program files\x264\x264-32bit.exe" --preset=slow --crf=18 --sar=12:11 --colormatrix=smpte170m --output "%~1.mkv" "%~1"
    You can just drag/drop the AVS script onto the batch file.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    Hi Guys,

    So one question

    It looks like one of the problems I am facing here in this process is starting with a 10bit source file as the DeInterlacing plugin QTGMC does not like 10bit source files,


    It seems like there is a extra step converting the 10bit source down to 8bit, so should I have not started with an 8bit source file ?

    Should I be archiving in the VHS in RAW 8bit mode ?

    I will be saving Hard Drive space, but will there be a noticeable degrade in the Archive Source Quality from the VHS

    as I'm sure I can see a slight improvement with 10bit on my CRT monitor ??


    Regards
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    Hi


    One other question,

    should I be using AviSynth+ or just AviSynth


    regards
    Quote Quote  
  16. AviSynth+ and QTGMC have supported 10 bit YUV 4:2:2 for a while now. Here's your video filtered and encoded with 10 bit HEVC.
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by jagabo; 31st May 2020 at 08:55.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    Hi Guys


    think I gonna have to give this idea up, Installed everything but just don't where to start

    It very complicated unless there is a step by step guide, which I can not seem to find


    Do you create batch files,

    how do you execute script for AV synth

    was tryng to follow https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4rLvpkBlnQ


    but hes doing everything in 8bit, then my audio in the mov will not play in his AvsPmod editor

    tried using LMsmash in the Pmod editor and thats bringing up errors


    To be honest I have not got a clue ???


    Regards
    Last edited by Johnnysh; 31st May 2020 at 09:36.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    Hi jagabo


    Ok love your result


    I have everything installed

    can you please provide a step by step guide as to what I need to do so I can try my self

    as I starting from fresh and newbee, just need to be shown once and wil have an idea

    do you create text files for the scripts, do you have to rename the extension ??


    Thank you for any help

    Step

    1) capture VHS in Raw 10bit (.mov)

    2) what to do from here please

    I'm assuming its AviSynth+ and QTGMC

    also when installing AviSynth it installing the program under x86 (32bit) was hoping there would be a 64bit version ?


    regards
    Quote Quote  
  19. Start by creating a script in Notepad. Save with extension .AVS instead of .TXT. Or you can use AvSpmod. Open that scrip tin VirtualDub2 using File -> Open Video File. Or by drag/drop the AVS file onto VirtualDub2. You can encode with VirtualDub2 if you want.

    LSmashVideoSource only reads the video if you want audio too use LSmashAudioSource.

    Code:
    a = LSmashAudioSource("3.mov") # get the audio
    v = LSmashVideoSource("3.mov") # get them video
    AudioDub(v,a) # join the together.
    # etc.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    hi thanks for the help

    followed what you said but getting an errImage
    [Attachment 53603 - Click to enlarge]
    or ??



    Image
    [Attachment 53605 - Click to enlarge]




    ERRORS ERRORS everywhere nothing working ,,,,,,,


    Image
    [Attachment 53607 - Click to enlarge]
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by Johnnysh; 31st May 2020 at 09:41.
    Quote Quote  
  21. LSmashAudioSource() usually works. But I just checked and it doesn't like the audio in your small sample either. You can use LWlibavAudioSource() instead:

    Code:
    a = LWlibavAudioSource("3.mov") # get the audio
    v = LWlibavVideoSource("3.mov") # get them video
    AudioDub(v,a) # join the together.
    Quote Quote  
  22. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    Use QTGMC( Preset="faster")

    In most cases, there's no reason to use anything else.

    The default is Slower, and blurs everything with aggressive NR.

    ... which amuses me. The same people who like Slower are often the same ones that complain about JVC VCRs softening the image. But Slower is more damaging to the sharpness than the VCR ever is.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    Hi Guys

    Thanks for any help in advance

    ok this is where I am at in AvsPmod, I am using the play bar at the bottom and dragging to see if I can view my clip, If I can i'm assuming that the entered commands are working?

    which they are not at the moment


    also don't seem to be getting any audio either ???

    I have been using max audio when capturing set to 24bit
    think in future I will capture audio at 16bit, as I feel this is more standard for VHS HIFI stereo capture and maybe some of the programs / plugins




    Also can not seem to get the 64bit plugins working ??

    I have copied all the various plugins x86 32bit to C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+

    I have also copied all the various plugins 64bit to C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+

    but do not feel the 64bit is working ???







    Code:
    a = LWlibavAudioSource("3-original-raw-sample.mov") # get the audio
    v = LWlibavVideoSource("3-original-raw-sample.mov") # get them video
    SetFilterMTMode("QTGMC", 2)
    AudioDub(v,a) # join the together.
    Crop(10,0,-6,-0) # crop 10 pixels off the left, 6 off the right
    #ConvertToYV12()
    AssumeTFF()
    QTGMC(Preset="Faster", Edithreads=1)

    Having issues using #ConvertToYV12() as this only works with 8bit ???
    so have discarded this command

    Image
    [Attachment 53611 - Click to enlarge]



    Now when I try to use QTGMC with or without additional presets I get this STRANGE ERROR

    I don't know what 'AvsPlusVersionNumber' means ????

    Image
    [Attachment 53612 - Click to enlarge]



    Can anybody please shine any light please


    Thank you




    Just downloaded Avisynth Info Tool


    Does not look like the 64bit is working, not sure how you get it working as there is no install 32/64bit options, it just installs

    32bit info
    ----------


    OS/Hardware info]
    Operating system: Windows 10 (x64) (Build 18363)

    CPU: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2643 v3 @ 3.40GHz / Xeon (Woodcrest)
    MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, FMA3, AVX, AVX2
    6 physical cores / 12 logical cores


    [Avisynth info]
    VersionString: AviSynth+ 3.6.0 (r3276, 3.6, i386)
    VersionNumber: 2.60
    File / Product version: 3.6.0.0 / 3.6.0.0
    Interface Version: 8
    Multi-threading support: Yes
    Avisynth.dll location: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\avisynth.dll
    Avisynth.dll time stamp: 2020-05-20, 16:26:02 (UTC)
    PluginDir2_5 (HKLM, x86): C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins
    PluginDir+ (HKLM, x86): C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+


    [C++ 2.6 Plugins (32 Bit)]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\.dll [2020-05-31]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\ConvertStacked.dll [2020-05-20]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\DirectShowSource.dll [2020-05-20]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\ffms2.dll [2016-12-29]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\ImageSeq.dll [2020-05-20]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\LSMASHSource.dll [2020-05-31]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\masktools2.dll [2.2.23.0]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\mvtools2.dll [2.7.42.0]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\nnedi3.dll [0.9.4.55]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\RgTools.dll [1.0.0.0]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\Shibatch.dll [2020-05-20]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\TimeStretch.dll [2020-05-20]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\VDubFilter.dll [2020-05-20]

    [Scripts (AVSI)]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\colors_rgb.avsi [2020-05-20]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\QTGMC.avsi [2020-05-30]

    [Uncategorized files]
    C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins+\colors_rgb.txt [2020-05-20]



    64bit info
    ----------

    Cannot load avisynth.dll

    Dependencies that could not be loaded:
    VCRUNTIME140_1.dll
    Last edited by Johnnysh; 31st May 2020 at 14:01.
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member dellsam34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Paris Ca, 92345 Mexico
    Search PM
    The hurdle is installing all the required plugins, Once that done everything else is easy, The best way is to open up a new thread for QTGMC and one for FFMPEG in the video conversion section, There are a lot of people there that are knowledgeable and they don't hangout in the capturing section. Just be patient and attach error messages to the posts, it's a steep learning curve but you will get thru it.
    Quote Quote  
  25. One of the 64 bit plugins needs the Microsoft Visual C Runtime package. I think 140 is the 2015 version:

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=52685
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    Hi Guys

    Thanks for your feedback


    will look in to this


    Regards
    Quote Quote  
  27. Don't be surprised if you find a few more issues like this before it starts working.
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    Ok, thanks I guess it will all be worth it in the end

    Regards
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Search PM
    HI Guys

    Happy Days are here again

    ok after much much playing around in win 10 I have managed to get the 64 bit version of AVISynth in and running in VUDUB2

    with the very basic script

    Code:
    #a = LWlibavAudioSource("3-original-raw-sample.mov") # get the audio
    #v = LWlibavVideoSource("3-original-raw-sample.mov") # get them video
    #AudioDub(v,a) # join the together.
    #Crop(10,0,-6,-0) # crop 10 pixels off the left, 6 off the right
    #ConvertToYV12()
    #AssumeTFF()
    #QTGMC(Preset="Faster")
    
    #a = LWlibavAudioSource("3-original-raw-sample.mov") # get the audio
    #v = LWlibavVideoSource("3-original-raw-sample.mov") # get them video
    #AudioDub(v,a) # join them together.
    Version()
    VERSION()

    this is what I get in the 64bit version of VUDUB2 when I drag the script (VERSION) over VUDUB2

    Image
    [Attachment 53697 - Click to enlarge]



    getting back now to the job in hand which is perfect / pristine .... conversion / delinterlacing / cropping etc

    of my horrible captured VHS Raw video in to lovely 50 fps De-Interlaced / ReSized (4:3 Aspect Ratio) / Black levels Rectified


    would someone please be kind enough to give me an idea of what script I should be running to do all of the above

    Since reinstalling the AVIsynth



    I have added all the plugins QTGMC / LMSMASH etc

    to get this code working

    Code:
    a = LWlibavAudioSource("3-original-raw-sample.mov") # get the audio
    v = LWlibavVideoSource("3-original-raw-sample.mov") # get them video
    AudioDub(v,a) # join the together.
    SetFilterMTMode("QTGMC", 2)
    Crop(10,0,-6,-0) # crop 10 pixels off the left, 6 off the right
    #ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true) 
    AssumeTFF()
    QTGMC(Preset="Faster", Edithreads=1)
    
    #a = LWlibavAudioSource("3-original-raw-sample.mov") # get the audio
    #v = LWlibavVideoSource("3-original-raw-sample.mov") # get them video
    #AudioDub(v,a) # join them together.
    #Version()








    the only error is ConvertToYV12()
    it complains it only works with 8bit video


    So is there a 10bit solution for ConvertToYV

    and the aim is to convert to 50fps deinterlaced at the VERY VERY best quality I can achieve from my 10bit captured video

    File size is not important also would like the best audio quality too guess this will be 360Kps mp3


    What other lines of script/plugins should I be adding for the ultimate quality conversion

    and how do you convert using the scrip ? is this done in VUDUB2 or is VUDUB2 just a viewer / player



    Thank you in advance for any help
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads