VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search PM
    I purchased a Toshiba DVR620 VCR/DVD combo a couple years ago and have finally gotten around to using it. I'm having two problems with it and I hope someone here has some insight.

Problem 1:

The VCR will not output to anything other than composite video. HDMI, Component, or S-Video only produce a blank blue screen. The DVD has no problem outputting to anything.

So if I want to be able to look through old VHS tapes, I need to either swap to composite output or be willing to watch DVD's at 480.

Is this normal behavior that I somehow overlooked or is this definitely broken? I've tried to follow along in the service manual as best as I can, but I'm a layman.

Problem 2:

I think the composite connectors are somewhat faulty. There is a high-pitched whine during playback. I can make it stop if I add some tension to the ports by pulling on the cable a bit. I don't think it's the cables because I'm using component cables that work just fine for the DVD player when connected to the component output.

I understand I may need a professional to look at this second problem, but where would I find someone who does work like this?

Thanks for any help.
    Last edited by 12centuries; 25th May 2020 at 17:25. Reason: fixing formatting
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Unless the unit came with one, you require the User Manual. Not a Service Manual.

https://www.manualslib.com/download/203807/Toshiba-Dvr620ku.html

And the unit appears to support VHS playback over S-Video, Component and HDMI
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Yes, thank you, I do have the user manual as well. As you said, it should support playback over all output interfaces, but it isn't.

I'm wondering if anyone has seen this before and might have a suggestion about what the problem may be. (And also about the whiny noise).
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM