VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello, total newbie here - I'm very sorry if I'm even in the wrong forum

I'm trying to record lectures over powerpoint (which means: I put a powerpoint on the screen of my laptop, plug in a microphone, press record and start talking).

To record this, I'm using the free version of VSDC video editor. I then clip the beginning and ending in Windows 10's native video editing app (that used to be Movie Maker, but it's now something called 'Video-editor'). So, basically, this converts the original recording and then exports it to something usable.

Here's the problem
    After exporting from Video-editor to for example an MP4-format, I've found the audio and video don't synch up. That's indicative of a recording in variable frame rate.

Looking back to the original recording I made with VSDC, I found that the root problem was in the recording itself: apparently, VSDC has as a standard setting that it records with a variable, not a constant frame rate.

Please help me out by...
    So, I now have several questions:

Question 1. I must be incredibly stupid, but in the screen recording menu of VSDC I can't find the button to tell the software that I want a recording in constant frame rate. Here's what the screen looks like:

[Attachment 53426 - Click to enlarge]

When I select a framerate from the menu, it just gives me options for framerate, but nowhere can I force a choice for a constant frame rate.

What I'd like to know is this: if I choose a frame rate in this menu, can I assume it is a constant frame rate? i.e. if I select 29.97 as frame rate, will it be constant or will the software still secretly record it as a variable frame rate?

(and to add a bit: I am worried it is the latter. I distinctly remember choosing 29.97 before the recording that has the bad synch, which would imply it is a variable frame rate anyway, but I could be mistaken anyhow).