VideoHelp Forum


Try StreamFab All-in-One and rip streaming video! Or Try DVDFab and copy Blu-rays! or rip iTunes movies!
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Sopron
    Search PM
    Hello!

    The Holy Grail Settings of NVENC HEVC, Can you find better general preset for low bitrate (2500 Kbit/s) video?

    If you found, please share it!

    I used the latest Hybrid , Rigaya's NVENC with the following presets:

    NVEnc --avhw -i -INPUT- --fps 23.976 --codec h265 --profile main10 --level 6.2 --tier high --sar 1:1 --lookahead 32 --output-depth 10 --vbrhq 2500 --max-bitrate 240000 --gop-len 600 --strict-gop --ref 7 --multiref-l0 7 --multiref-l1 7 --nonrefp --bframes 1 --bref-mode disabled --no-b-adapt --mv-precision Q-pel --cu-max 32 --cu-min 8 --preset quality --colormatrix bt709 --vpp-resize default --output-res 1920x1080 --vpp-gauss disabled --cuda-schedule auto --keyfile GENERATED_KEY_FILE --psnr --ssim --output "C:\Users\007\AppData\Local\Temp\2 b solid.265"

    I also used Rigaya's built-in PSNR and SSIM measurement tool too.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Sopron
    Search PM
    Any idea?
    Quote Quote  
  3. --bframes 1 --bref-mode disabled
    have you tried enabling bref-mode and using more b-frames?
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Sopron
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Selur View Post
    --bframes 1 --bref-mode disabled
    have you tried enabling bref-mode and using more b-frames?
    I made 1b frame 2 b frame and 3b frame encodings, with two variations: 1 / with adaptive B-frame 2/ with fixed (solid) b frames.

    I uploaded here the results:
    https://sendgb.com/M0YSreEQlWX

    Here is the original source file: https://sendgb.com/8pCny1KD76d

    Is the fixed (solid) 1B frames the best version?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Sopron
    Search PM
    SOLID (FIXED) 1 B frame results:
    SSIM YUV: 0.959519 (13.927510), 0.987063 (18.881730), 0.987414 (19.001062), All: 0.968759 (15.052747), (Frames: 4922)
    PSNR YUV: 41.852698, 47.663324, 47.616219, Avg: 43.075502, (Frames: 4922)
    __________________________________________________ __________________

    Adaptive 1 B frame results:
    SSIM YUV: 0.959268 (13.900629), 0.987143 (18.908510), 0.987484 (19.025379), All: 0.968616 (15.032970), (Frames: 4922)
    PSNR YUV: 41.782242, 47.695861, 47.645941, Avg: 43.016762, (Frames: 4922)
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    SOLID 2 B frame results
    SSIM YUV: 0.959184 (13.891746), 0.987477 (19.022821), 0.987908 (19.174925), All: 0.968687 (15.042762), (Frames: 4922)
    PSNR YUV: 41.775293, 47.845018, 47.824288, Avg: 43.028969, (Frames: 4922)
    __________________________________________________ _________________________________
    Adaptive 2B frame results:
    SSIM YUV: 0.959268 (13.900629), 0.987143 (18.908510), 0.987484 (19.025379), All: 0.968616 (15.032970), (Frames: 4922)
    PSNR YUV: 41.782242, 47.695861, 47.645941, Avg: 43.016762, (Frames: 4922)
    __________________________________________________ _____________________________________
    Solid 3B frame results:
    SSIM YUV: 0.958440 (13.813271), 0.987824 (19.144857), 0.988285 (19.312587), All: 0.968312 (14.991001), (Frames: 4922)
    PSNR YUV: 41.629757, 47.991645, 47.985072, Avg: 42.915426, (Frames: 4922)
    __________________________________________________ _____________________________________
    Adaptive 3 b frame results:
    SSIM YUV: 0.958726 (13.843203), 0.987423 (19.004305), 0.987791 (19.133101), All: 0.968353 (14.996646), (Frames: 4922)
    PSNR YUV: 41.657191, 47.811351, 47.769798, Avg: 42.918961, (Frames: 4922)
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    make it preset slow
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Sopron
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Zero-11 View Post
    make it preset slow
    Is it possible in Rigaya's version of NVENC for the "preset slow" ?

    Here is Rigaya's NVENC option list: https://github.com/rigaya/NVEnc/blob/master/NVEncC_Options.en.md
    Quote Quote  
  8. Have you actually looked at the streams? Do not trust the metric, trust your eyes.
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Sopron
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Selur View Post
    Have you actually looked at the streams? Do not trust the metric, trust your eyes.
    Hello Selur!

    Which video is the best according to your visual test?
    Quote Quote  
  10. doesn't matter, quality is in the eye of the beholder
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Sopron
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Selur View Post
    doesn't matter, quality is in the eye of the beholder
    Yes, but you have also eyes, thus you have also an opinion...
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Abdler View Post
    Originally Posted by Zero-11 View Post
    make it preset slow
    Is it possible in Rigaya's version of NVENC for the "preset slow" ?

    Here is Rigaya's NVENC option list: https://github.com/rigaya/NVEnc/blob/master/NVEncC_Options.en.md
    it says you are using b-frames which indicates a Turing card, fast/medium/slow are the new Turing settings which have better quality
    if Rigaya's version doesn't support it try Handbrake
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Sopron
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Zero-11 View Post
    Originally Posted by Abdler View Post
    Originally Posted by Zero-11 View Post
    make it preset slow
    Is it possible in Rigaya's version of NVENC for the "preset slow" ?

    Here is Rigaya's NVENC option list: https://github.com/rigaya/NVEnc/blob/master/NVEncC_Options.en.md
    it says you are using b-frames which indicates a Turing card, fast/medium/slow are the new Turing settings which have better quality
    if Rigaya's version doesn't support it try Handbrake
    But it uses FFMPEG, which is infamous from its bad quality and slow encoding speed among the HW encoders. FFMPEG has not even proper HW decoder for input videos. In FFMPEG, everything goes trough the system memory and CPU, which makes the process backward/outdated.
    Last edited by Abdler; 5th May 2020 at 03:44.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Handbrake, FFmpeg and NVEncC usually all use the same libraries (from the current NVIDIA SDK) to access the VPU on your graphic card, so unless someone messes up, the quality should not differ.
    It's just a difference how NVEncC and Handbrake name an option (and if they offer it to the user).
    In case of the presets, Handbrake offers presets named 'fast/medium/slow' while NVEncC names them "performance/default/quality".

    Cu Selur
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Selur View Post
    In case of the presets, Handbrake offers presets named 'fast/medium/slow' while NVEncC names them "performance/default/quality".

    Cu Selur
    yea right. that's why the 1st ones have better quality, Handbrake didn't name them different. it has all of them
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Sopron
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Zero-11 View Post
    Originally Posted by Selur View Post
    In case of the presets, Handbrake offers presets named 'fast/medium/slow' while NVEncC names them "performance/default/quality".

    Cu Selur
    yea right. that's why the 1st ones have better quality, Handbrake didn't name them different. it has all of them
    But Handbrake uses only FFMPEG, and FFMPEG has very few options for HW encoders.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Handbrake does not use FFmpeg.
    It uses libav and other libraries and since libav is originated in FFmpeg sometimes folks write Handbrake uses FFmpeg, which it does not.
    Like I wrote before both FFmpeg, Handbrake and NVEncC all use the same libaries, it's just a question of which option they support and how.

    Cu Selur
    users currently on my ignore list: deadrats, Stears555
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads