VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hello,

I'm trying to rip an anime series and this is my first time dealing with the whole encoding process. As of right now I've ripped the first disc of the series and I'm not happy about the quality. I've been browsing the forum and seeing people say things like "Handbrake isn't enough" and "Use AVISynth+QTGMC" for best results so I figured I'd reach out for some help.

I attached a couple of photos (one of the DVD, and one from the copy) to this post so everyone can see what's going on. My biggest issue is I'm getting these weird lines + blocks in the image which I'm assuming is a de interlacing issue. I also attached a log from handbrake so you can see what settings I used.
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	DVD Example 3.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	382.0 KB
ID:	52917  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Encode Example 3.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	465.5 KB
ID:	52918  

Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  2. Those are probably aren't deinterlacing artifacts. Post a short sample of the original DVD video (not reencoded) and your reencoded video.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    Here's two one minute video using the scene from the images above. If you need something with more movement like an action sequence, let me know.
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Aerohydrous View Post
    Here's two one minute video using the scene from the images above. If you need something with more movement like an action sequence, let me know.
    That's a DVD sample? That is a HD, 1080p encode.
    DVD is SD, 720x480 NTSC
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Search PM
    I just recorded the screen on my desktop and sent a copy of that. Is that not adviseable? 😅
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Search Comp PM